Going to the birds

One of the great things about school is how your kids can come home with a new interest, and run with it. We have a new hobby in our house: bird watching. I have always enjoyed birds, and can identify the basic backyard birds. Taylor has developed a huge interest in birds and has set up some more feeders. His new binoculars are being put to good use and our Peterson Field Guide Eastern Bird book is getting a good work out. The kids also love The Backyard Birdsong Guide which plays the songs of many backyard birds.  They can now ID some of bird calls they hear outside.

So far Taylor has identified 31 birds, and his best bird ID was a Pileated Woodpecker. He often grabs my camera with it’s good zoom, and takes pics of birds on the feeder. The only problem is that our dinner hours are being interrupted with… “I see a _______” and everyone rushes to the window.  Could be worse…. right?

Can you identify these common backyard birds we’ve seen?

IMG_6304 IMG_6208

IMG_6154 IMG_6181

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in child's play, kids, nature, wild life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going to the birds

  1. Andrea S says:

    Ever since Josh has been into it, I’ve been learning too! Those are: mocking bird, downy woodpecker, house finch, and red-bellied woodpecker. Correct?

  2. Ray says:

    I’m pretty sure Ange cheated and looked at her bird book…

Leave a comment