Big news

I’ve been remiss in blogging faithfully lately. However, I have a pretty good excuse (at least I think so). See, it’s hard to get the creative juices flowing when you’re feeling kind of crummy. To get to the point, I am expecting a baby in the beginning of October and have been suffering the typical nausea etc. that accompanies a pregnancy. So that’s the big news folks!  I am glad to report that those yucky symptoms are gradually receding and I anticipate getting my energy back.

The baby is about thirteen weeks and doing well according to the ultrasound I just had. We’ve all had a little adjustment to make in our expectations for the future. While there isn’t a big gap between Annika and the new expected one (three years), having her at 39 kind of felt like the end of the baby era. So yes, I will be a 42 year old new mother!  Been done before, right?

Having the ultrasound really solidified the reality.  It was fun seeing the little peanut jumping up and down like s/he was on a trampoline.  The ultrasound tech said that this baby was likely to be very lively throughout the pregnancy.  We are excited and yet aware that there may be more challenges with this pregnancy than with the others.  We thank God that all has gone well so far and pray that we will be able to embrace a healthy baby in about six months.

IMG  IMG

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in family, kids, reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Big news

  1. Lidia says:

    Congratulations, Lora! I haven’t commented here before but love your blog and the creative play you encourage your kids do! My mom was 41 when I was born and 42.5 when my youngest brother was born. We will pray for you and the wee one as well as the rest of your family.

  2. Mary-Ann says:

    Congratulations. Lora! I was a little surprised to hear your big news. Our kids’ reaction was “Really?!?”. Hope all goes well. We are enjoying reading your blog and keeping up on your family.
    Mary-Ann Van Den Assem

  3. Sandra says:

    Congratulations! I’m sure it was a very pleasant surprise, although I can imagine the mental adjustment you went through. Hope all goes well, and that you’ll have a healthy pregnancy! Take care!

  4. Tanya says:

    Congratulations Lora and Scott!! What a wonderful surprise! Your mom told me a few weeks ago and we are exciting with you. Hope you start getting your energy back again and that all goes well.

  5. Marcia says:

    Congratulations! Don’t assume this is the last one, either – I had 3 after age 42. And put the AMA label to the back of your mind; they were all very healthy, and so was I.

  6. Trisha says:

    Congratulations! Such exciting news! Your kids must be thrilled!

  7. Lora says:

    Thanks for the kind words. The kids are very excited! 🙂

  8. Lora says:

    Thanks Marcia. You learn something new every day. I have midwives who are very low key, easy going, so that’s been great .

  9. Boudewina says:

    I had two of my kids late ( daniël at 37 and Christian at 41,5) here in The Netherlands they offer you ( if you are 36 and up) more physical tests. If you do not take those tests you have to sign! I did not take those tests except for the 20 weeks ultrasound. We found out then wat the gender of the baby was.
    They told us than also that my bloodpressure would be high at the end of my pregnancy. They could tell by the bloodstream in the placenta! They were right it started 10 weeks before the due date. The high bloodpressure was not because of my age. I had it with all my pregnancies. It also runs in the family 😉
    Wishing you a healthy pregnancy! Enjoy…they are grown up before you know it!

Leave a Reply

