Sunshine after the storm

Last evening a quick storm blew through breaking the stifling, muggy heat. It was before sundown and once it passed by the sun broke through the dark clouds and shone so warm and dazzling, I grabbed the camera, slipped on my gardening crocs and dashed outside to take some pictures. In ten minutes I raced around our yard trying to capture and freeze into memory the awesome beauty of the moment.  Little moments like these need to be appreciated, don’t you think?  What gives you a thrill to see?

So here is an unplanned wet tour of our yard as it was last night.

In the front of our house:

DSC01257

DSC01264

DSC01262

And less dramatic, swinging around along the side of our house:

DSC01265

Walking past the perennial garden:

DSC01284

DSC01283

To the woods:

DSC01269

DSC01277

DSC01276

And back to the patio:

DSC01285

DSC01288

Hope you enjoyed the impromptu tour.  🙂

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in garden, happiness, nature, plants, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunshine after the storm

  1. nancynurse86 says:

    Neat! Those photos from the front of the house are awesome!

  2. coletrain77 says:

    Lovely! Everything looks so fresh and green!!!!

  3. so pretty! Your perennial garden has changed a bit is doing really well since I last saw it!

    • Lora says:

      Thanks Ange, it is doing well this year after years of neglect, then being ripped up, rebuilt and replanted sort of haphazardly. Now I need to take notes on what is too high etc. and move things around a little.

  4. Ada Kiefte says:

    Beautiful Lora!!!!!!!!

  5. Lora says:

    Thanks Aunty Ada! I think there are moments of beauty happening all the time but we don’t always take the time to enjoy them for a couple minutes.

Leave a Reply

