Master bath before and after

So at the beginning of this year I said that I might even get around to posting some before and after pictures of various projects in our house.  This project has been completed for a little less than two years maybe??  I just never got around to taking pictures of it.  Well the other morning I woke up and the sun was shining so beautifully into our master bath (that warm glow you can get at sunrise or sunset) that I had to grab my camera and take some pictures.  Fortunately I had just cleaned the bathroom the real dutch way.  (That means pail and rags, not just disinfectant wipes 😉 ) Unfortunately, by the time I grabbed my camera the sun had waned into that sad, pale semblance of sunlight you get in the winter.  Oh well… here are the pics anyway.  Btw, I hope you don’t think it’s odd to show pictures of a bathroom.  I like looking at bathroom redos but just skip this post if it isn’t your thing.  Also, I never want to give the impression that having a picture perfect house is a terribly important thing in the scheme of life. And it rarely happens.. and that is fine.  We live life in our homes. OK end of sermon.

It’s always more effective to start with befores isn’t it?   I must tell you that this project began before 2010.  Yup… it took over two years to build and finish a master bathroom.  We did have a house fire detour, and when we finally moved back in, in November 2011, there were a lot of things on the to-do list.  I actually didn’t care if I had my own bathroom or not.  I mean, it’s nice of course, but not essential.  So it wasn’t high on our priority list.  We had a space put aside for it when we reorganized all the rooms upstairs, and a tub and two vanities stashed away, but that was it for a few years.  Anyway, here are the construction pics while it was being built.

View into our bathroom from the bedroom.  Yes there is a french door in our bathroom.

View into our bathroom from the bedroom. Yes there is a french door in our bathroom.

IMG_4530

We picked up two of these sinks as floor models from Lowes several years before we began the project. $100 for two!

IMG_4533

Self explanatory

IMG_4534

Scott does all the plumbing himself. Hence the tidy glue job.

IMG_3988

This tub floated around our bedroom for ages. The story is that I was hoping for a Victorian type tub. Scott said only if we found a deal and it had to be a shorter one (5 feet long instead of 6). A few weeks later he found one on clearance at Lowes… a special order that someone returned. Yes, I was pleased. 🙂

Bead board going up.  Lots of painting ahead.

Bead board going up. Lots of painting ahead.

OK, so now lets share the afters:

Warm, bright sunlight peaking into our room through the bathroom door.

Warm, bright sunlight peaking into our room through the bathroom door.

Entering the bathroom from the bedroom.  The door leads to a second (almost third) floor balcony.  That was my dh's special request.

Entering the bathroom from the bedroom. The french door ahead leads to a second (almost third) floor balcony. That was my husband’s special request. He got a balcony to check out the weather in the morning, I got the tub. 

Tub, shower to the left.  We never purchased glass doors for the shower, simply because I don't want to clean them.  It's a lot easier to wash a shower curtain than keep glass spot free!

Shower to the right. We never purchased glass doors for the shower, simply because I don’t want to clean them. It’s a lot easier to wash a shower curtain than keep glass spot free! The little table is a metal tray table from IKEA.  The towel bar is from Pottery Barn purchased about 12 years ago.  We moved it with us to this house.

We went with a preformed fiberglass shower, just to make things more simple.  We probably would not do that again.  It has all kinds of curves and bends which makes it hard to dry off with the squeegee after showering. On the other hand, there's no grout to clean.  Can you see a theme here?  I go for easy to clean :)

We went with a preformed fiberglass shower, just to make things more simple. We probably would not do that again. It has all kinds of curves and bends which makes it hard to dry off with the squeegee after showering. On the other hand, there’s little grout to clean. Can you see a theme here? I go for easy to clean 🙂

Looking in the opposite direction.  Two vanities picked up for a song.  Middle cabinet picked up at HomeGoods to store extra towels.  I thought I might miss the storage of larger vanities, but between the medicine cabinets and the little drawer at the bottom we have plenty of storage.

Looking in the opposite direction. Two floor model vanities picked up for a song. Middle cabinet purchased at HomeGoods to store extra towels. I thought I might miss the storage of larger vanities, but between the medicine cabinets and the little drawer at the bottom we have plenty of storage. Btw, the flooring is tile that looks like wood planks.  We picked it because it went well with the tub and bead board walls.  Bathrooms would have had wooden floors in the “olden” days.  These floors have not disappointed us. They always fool people.  Tile “wood” floors have come a long way.

IMG_7543

Does it bother you that the hand soap on the left is green? I got over it. I used to have aqua hand soap and then BJ’s switched to green and my dh does the shopping there.. And I should have removed the clashy tooth paste but hey… this isn’t BHG, it’s real life, right?

Some cute containers to corral the beauty products.

Some cute containers to corral the beauty products.

Yes we have a toilet, it's down the little hall.  Having a "toilet room" is seriously one of the best parts of having a master bath.  I would pick that over two sinks and a tub.
Yes we have a toilet, it’s down the little hall. It’s also a floor model.  Funny story is how after buying it for $5, we found out the tank lid was caulked to the tank.  We eventually pried it off.  Having a “toilet room” is seriously one of the best parts of having a master bath. I would pick that over two sinks and a tub. And yes, that is a painting I have balanced on a basket.  I never remember to take up a hammer and nail to the bathroom.  Our closet is just to the left when you enter the little hall.  So this works out great when one of us (read Scott) gets up early and can do all the morning stuff without disturbing his wife, (who actually wouldn’t care since she can sleep through anything in the morning). 😉

So that’s the end of the tour.  We had to work within some interesting parameters when we designed the bathroom and we are happy with how it all turned out.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in before and after, do-it-yourself, renovations. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Master bath before and after

  1. Marcia says:

    I’ve seen it first hand, but now I really got to soak up the details. We’re going for the same look in the new house. I’m with you on the “easy-to-clean” requirement. I have vowed to NEVER have a glass shower door again. Can’t get it perfectly clean, no matter what I use. I’ve picked out jumbo tile for the stall so that there will be less grout. Experience is a wonderful teacher! You should enter this at betterafter.net – great job.

  2. Sandra says:

    It’s so pretty, Lora! Too bad we never got the real life tour this summer. I love the white and subtle teal / blue colours. Very fresh. Will have to keep this in mind if we ever move to a house with a master bathroom (basically non-existent in NL!) 😉

    • Lora says:

      I realized after you left I had never shown you our upstairs! Probably some days It was such a mess I didn’t want to, lol. It is kind of awkward gauging people’s interest etc. When you just have a new house or just completed a project it seems fine to show it to interested friends. Later on, you wonder, do they want to see it, or does it look like I’m showing off? I would hate to give that vibe. Plus they are your private spaces. I personally love looking at peoples renovations because I love designing them. But not everyone has that level of interest. Anyhow, you don’t have to wait for a masterbath to use the color scheme, Sandra. Masterbaths are nice, especially when you have five kids. But they’re hardly essential!

  3. Beautiful! I love all the details, from the wainscoting to the tub, to the colors, to the accessories…..I love it all! Thanks for sharing! I’m with you in delighting in looking at other people’s renovations and projects. Hopefully I get to see some of it this year!

  4. Joyce says:

    Looks very nice Lora. Kudos to you and Scott. We are hoping to be able to come out sometime this spring. But we will check first to make sure it works for you. It has been a long time since we visited you folks. (except of course that whirlwind visit when we went to Carnegie Hall).

  5. kmdutchlife says:

    Great job, Lora! I like the before and after pictures! Ohhh, I don’t think I would get over the green soap dispenser. Good for you that you did! Is your house totally finished now?

    • Lora says:

      Thanks! Well I had to take a deep breath when I saw Scott come home with the two green bottles and then think “my dear husband is doing the shopping, and he was following the list…” Just a couple months of green soap 🙂 . We are almost done….. Just working on a bathroom in the basement. And our garage needs some serious finishing, organizing cleaning out etc. There is always more to do, but the bulk is done.

  6. Love it, Lora! I would never pass up a house tour 🙂

  7. Marcia says:

    Hi Lora,
    I’m back here looking for ideas, and I have a question about the tub: what material is it? I’ve always been partial to Kohler cast iron, and that’s what we have here, but they are simply out of my reach. I found a beautiful soapstone (Victoria & Albert) but I think that spending $3000 on a tub is crazy! Anyhow, if it’s acrylic, are you satisfied with it? Thanks for the advice.
    Marcia

    • Lora says:

      It’s acrylic and it is holding up just fine. It kicked around our garage for several years, not in a box or anything and survived that very well. I use it every night, clean it once and awhile 😉 with nonabrasive cleaner and it still looks like new. The feet are metal/cast iron so it really looks like a cast iron type tub. We got it cheap (a special order return at Lowes for about $600?) but be aware that the faucets for this type of tub are pricey. We also picked up the faucet on clearance (also a special order return at Lowes)

  8. Marcia says:

    Thanks, Lora. If you’re interested in my rabbit trail, I went from the Lowes website to American Bath Factory, which is what yours looked like. They have some on clearance (my favorite word!) with free shipping to the 48 states. That was a real bummer, but then David suggested we ask the lumber yard where we’ve ordered our windows in NY to receive it. They agreed, for a price, so now that I have your review, it’s time to make a call or two! Thanks so much for your help.

Leave a Reply

