Pasta Primevera

I found a great recipe last week for pasta primevera and tweaked it to suit my tastes and what I had in the house. It was creamy, interesting and had a lot of vegetables in it without tasting like it had a lot of vegetables in it (if you get my drift) Important when you’re cooking for kids. 🙂 The original recipe had cauliflower and zucchini which I nixed for sun dried tomatoes and a red pepper. So you could always try the other version if that’s what you like or have in the house.

IMG_7531

Here is the recipe:

In a large deep skillet, heat 1/2 cup butter. Saute 1 large yellow onion (chopped), 2 cloves garlic (minced), until softened, about three minutes.  Mix in 8 0z sliced mushrooms, 6-10 pieces of sun dried tomato (or 1 cup) sliced small, 1 red pepper (diced), I large carrot (cut in little strips – julienne). Increase heat to high.  Add 1 cup whipping (heavy) cream, 1/2 cup chicken stock, and 2 tsp dried basil and allow the mixture to boil until the liquid is slightly reduced, about three minutes.

Stir in 1 cup frozen petite peas, 8 oz cooked ham (cubed) or a lesser amount of prosciutto and cook for one more minute.  Stir in 1 lb cooked, shelled, medium shrimp, salt and pepper to taste. Add 1 lb cooked pasta (linguine, bow tie…) and toss with 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese, tossing until thoroughly combined and pasta is heated.  Serve immediately.

Bon Appetit

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pasta Primevera

  1. Marcia says:

    Looks good – I’ll have to try it out.

  2. I gave it a try and it was good! I like your substitutes and shrimp & proscuitto.

Leave a Reply

