Of blogging and such

So at the end of the year WordPress sends out a report sharing various statistics about one’s blog. It confirmed for me what I knew already.ย  This past year I have not been very active compared to the previous years. Life interrupts, babies take precedent and often I was too tired to post anything.

IMG_7028

This leads me to think about why I blog, and what I blog about. I am always having conversations in my head about all sorts of topics. Some of them make it onto this blog, most do not. Often because I forget what I had thought about earlier, and other times it’s because I don’t want to have to defend (even to myself ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) my thoughts if I were to get negative reactions to my ideas. So most gets edited out or forgotten. I don’t think I have the emotional energy and time to engage in a “meatier” blog.

The other main reason I blog is to share snippets of our life with my family and friends. I live far apart from many of them and I want them to feel like they have a little window into what life is like for me (us) over here. I also like to share recipes and ideas and hopefully inspire someone (and get inspired myself) to try something new. I am very interested in design, but I figured out early, that I could never have one of those decorating/design blogs because you have to put out real content all of the time, which means I would need to be continually working on projects. Which of course is not how I want to live my life; I don’t want to become a slave to my blog.

So what conclusion have I come to after all this rambling? I’m going to try and blog more frequently, I might dip my toes in the water of opinion more often, but mostly I want this to be a way for me to have a snapshot of life at Brightwood Cottage. And of course, as projects progress, I will post about them. Just know that they are progressing much more slowly these days (basement bathroom being a case in point). I might also catch you up on other things that have been completed but never photographed (because that means I have to have a perfectly clean room ๐Ÿ˜› ) One thing about house stuff I do want to get across is that just because you can take pretty pictures of a room, doesn’t mean that’s real life…. Ask anyone who pops in here, or stays over for a couple days.

So welcome to Brightwood Cottage… I hope you enjoy your stay.ย  Feel free to comment, in fact I love dialog!

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in about me, reflection, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Of blogging and such

  1. literaturegradstudent says:

    You’d think a baby would help with the blogging. Whenever you’ve got nothing to talk about you can just go to the baby well

    • Lora says:

      Maybe… but lack of sleep totally kills creativity. And since this is my fifth I realize that the not everyone is as thrilled by our little ones accomplishments are we are. I have definitely learned that opinions on child rearing, feeding, sleep schedules and the like are best kept to real conversations! Nothing like reading mommy blogs to see the passion in the comments on all those OPINIONS. Thanks for visiting ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Marcia says:

    I always enjoy what you write about, Lora, and have tried a number of the recipes which you have suggested. Your blog is a nice little snapshot of your life, and thankfully, you leave the pedantry to others!

  3. coletrain77 says:

    Good for you! I thought I would also try to blog more frequently this year. It is so nice to look back and see what happened over the past year…. You forget all of the different things you did/thought, etc. Happy blogging! I love recipes, too!!!

  4. I love catching up with your family and doings on your blog! And I like leaving comments…I am sol computer illiterate, however that I am logged out of my own acvcount andvdon’t remember the password, so I can only leave comments from my phone! Which is rather painstaking ๐Ÿ™‚ I will keep reading though!

Leave a Reply

