Loving the weather and random thoughts on grocery shopping

We are having a warm spell here… it’s been in the mid seventies for a couple of days. How nice to be able to sit outside again! And has anyone noticed that if you kept your flowering plants alive during the summer, they look spectacular in the fall?  So far I have resisted buying mums since the other pots are doing so well.  I think I’ll pick up some mums and kale for the window boxes once everything else poops out.  Otherwise you reach mid- November, when it seems more dismal with the leaves down, and your mums are done too.

IMG_6028

Isn’t that awesome with the colored trees showing behind?

IMG_6031

Since I had to bring the kids to school today, I amazed myself by being at the grocery store at 8:30 am, with a list (well, I worked on that in the car first), rightly clothed, kids breakfasted, dressed and clean.  I strongly feel that the stress of grocery shopping with a four and one year old,  can be alleviated afterwards, by a big, fat donut at Shoprite, which by the way, is FAR better than Dunkin Donuts (and cheaper!).  Seriously though, I try to avoid grocery stores as much as possible, especially with littles in tow.  I go maybe once a month. The rest of the time I (or my DH) go to our big box store where you can put two kids in the seat in front of the cart, and the aisle are big and you can fly through quickly.   Add a 10 minute stop at the vegetable store once a week and grocery stores can be avoided.

So what about sales, coupons etc. asks the fugal homemaker?  Well, our box store has great coupons which I use to by regular stuff or anything extra (read: fattening, processed, short-cut-ish, not necessary), and otherwise I don’t do coupons.  I always forget them, they expire, and they tend to be for more expensive brands anyways.  I just get store brands, or what’s on sale. I will look at flyers for sales when I’m running low on meats in my freezer or other basics that the big store doesn’t have.   I have three grocery stores nearby, and will make a quick run to stock up on sales. So that’s my philosophy on grocery shopping.  The quicker the better… One final important note:  we do have two running lists going, one for the big store, one for the grocery store.  When you take the last of anything, it is a commandment in our house that you write it down on the list!  DH abhors running out of things 😉

 IMG_6025

Nothing like having coffee time outside, with your peeps, and a (smooshed) donut from Shoprite. Eliza has raisins, ha ha.  Yes, I did share some donut with her 🙂  BTW, jelly donuts are a delicacy introduced to me by my husband…

So, do you have great weather too?  How often do you go grocery shopping?  Is it just me that finds the whole thing a big hassle?

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in garden, handy household tips, kids, reflection, seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Loving the weather and random thoughts on grocery shopping

  1. coletrain77 says:

    Shop rite donuts are the BEST! I actually managed to avoid buying some this morning while I shopped!!! I am a one-stop kind of girl. I get everything at Shop-rite. I never shop sales at other grocery stores. For me, the less I am in stores, the better. I think it actually saves me money. If I had a large family, the big box stores might be worth it… BTW, your baskets look amazing. Mine croaked long ago…
    Nic

  2. Esther says:

    I actually like having the kids with me when I go grocery shopping. I like having someone to talk to 😉

    But, since Noah’s arrival, I’ve had a hard time getting back in a consistent shopping routine, so Dan has gone with Elijah regularly too. I don’t mind that!

    • Lora says:

      I remember having fun shopping with Trina and Taylor when they were little. I think doing big shopping trips and having to get so much stuff for a bigger family is what does me in. By the time I’ve payed, it’s been an hour and a half and the kids have had it. So I rarely do a BIG shopping trip with them.

  3. Sandra says:

    So that’s the trick to get your mums to last longer! Mine are already starting to ‘poop out’ to use your terms 😉 As for grocery shopping, dare I even compare? I do a once a week trip to a discount store which generally has everything I need, and do that preferably without the kids! No screams, scenes, etc. If I had to take the kids then I’d get a french bread stick in the beginning of the store for them to take a few nibbles off. However, I do find myself hopping on my bike regularly for last-minute grocery trips. That is an art in itself. In the beginning I tried cramming way too much on my bike, including kids! I’ve had the embarassment of it falling over before – yikes! I don’t do the butcher, baker, market thing yet. I do check out the green grocer for deals on fresh fruits and veggies. Ideally I’d like to become a ‘buy local market type’…but in my books that also has to be feasible both time-wise and weather-wise 😉
    Those donuts look amazing!! Much too processed tho, Lora! 😉

  4. The weather has been beautiful over here too….but now it’s getting cold and rainy. As for grocery shopping, I don’t mind it. I have a pattern of weaving through Meijer to check out the clearance and sale items. The most frustrating part is when they recently moved everything around to different aisles and I now have to think about where to go! I only shop at Meijer, however, and use their reward card and coupons that I clip. I can’t be bothered to shop elsewhere even when items are on sale.

  5. Heidi says:

    We have been getting miserable weather here. Rain every day. I shop once a week, but we grow so much of our own food that shopping is done in 20 minutes. When I had lots of kids they would get a cookie and while they ate that I would shop. I only go to one store for shopping, to many stores make me tired, and I find I would spend a lot more.

Leave a Reply

