Chicken stew and dumplings

I make chicken soup about once a month or so and the kids have always liked it.  However, now that it’s Fall, I wanted to make something a little more hearty for dinner. This recipe turned out to be delicious and all most of the kids loved it.  It was a quick, healthy dinner, perfect for an early meal before soccer practice. It had dumplings which was a first for me, and the seasonings were great together.

IMG_5363

Here’s the recipe I adapted from one I found on allrecipe.com.

3 cups, or about 2 lbs of chicken cooked and cut up.  I sauteed small pieces of chicken in a little oil, and shook about 1 – 2 tsp of curry powder on them while cooking the chicken. Put aside.

Melt 5 tbsp of butter in a large dutch oven over medium heat.  Cook and stir 2 medium to large chopped onions and 3 large ribs of finely chopped celery until soft, for about 10 minutes.  Sprinkle in 5 tbsp flour and whisk continuously to make a thick roux, about 2 minutes.  Slowly pour about 40 oz or 5 cups chicken broth, whisking to remove any lumps. (I use Better than Bouillon chicken base to make my broth.) Add 1 tsp salt (unless your broth is salted), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp dried thyme, 2 large new potatoes cleaned and diced, 2 cups or 10 oz frozen vegetables (thawed) – I get the kind without lima beans.  Cover and cook stew over medium heat until potatoes are tender.  Stir in chicken and continue to simmer. If it seems to thick, add some more broth or a little water.

Meanwhile, combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt in a large bowl.  Cut in 4 tbsp butter with a pastry blender until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  I may have added a little more butter to get the crumbs.  Stir in 3/4 cup milk and 1 1/2 tbsp dried dill. Drop rounded tablespoons of dough into the simmering stew.  Cook uncovered for 10 minutes. Cover and cook until the dumplings are tender, another 8 to 1o minutes. Next time, I will form the dumplings into more of a ball so that they don’t lose pieces in the stew.  You could still use your tablespoon to do this.  Mine were too loose at first.  Also, this makes a lot of dumplings.  You could halve the recipe if you are unsure about dumplings.

Simply put, this stew is definitely being added to my recipe box.  Something different, but still accessible comfort food.

~ Lora

 

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken stew and dumplings

  1. That sounds good! This colder weather makes me think of soups, and I definitely want to try out new ones!

Leave a Reply

