Fall’s here!

IMG_5340Who’s excited to feel a nip in the air?  Our family just loves Fall. With cooler sunny weather (hurray for mid 70’s) and even cooler nights, I figured I could haul the Autumn decor out of the attic and change things up a bit around here. Changing the decor in my house is a little pleasure I allow myself as the seasons change. In the spring, I get rid of all references to winter, (even my red living room curtains) and then I don’t change anything till fall. I have three main areas I change up… my fireplace mantel, the top of a red cabinet in my kitchen, and on top of the “high” bar that shields my stove from view. I also have a habit of moving around pictures and other art which explains the numerous holes I have in the walls. That’s enough to give our home a new seasonal look and feel. Just to show you how I change things around, here’s a picture of my mantel this past summer:

IMG_4547

And here it is now:

IMG_5344

I like to display my Willow Tree figurines, given to me as gifts.  With Thanksgiving coming up, it reminds me how much I love my five kids and husband and what a blessing they are to me.  The oil painting is special to us since it was done by a local artist in Northern Ontario, Helen Hall, where we have been vacationing for years.  A dear sister (in-law) gave me the beautiful plate which has been hung in many different places in our home.

IMG_5348 IMG_5349

IMG_5350 IMG_5352

IMG_5358

The plant is obscuring two pieces of art which Scott and I picked up on a rare overnight away several years ago.  It’s made of carefully cut out paper to create a folk art design, and the words “Be joyful at all times, pray without ceasing and give thanks for all things” are written underneath.

IMG_5345

The round piece of carved wood was the table top of a little three legged table that had been my Oma’s table.  It then moved into my childhood home while I was growing up, and now I inherited it.  The legs were simply too broken to repair, but I’m glad I can use it in another way.  I like to decorate my home with meaningful objects.  It’s not just how things look, and whether they are “on trend”.  It’s the story behind the pretty, it’s the feeling communicated to my family, and to those who visit us.  I was so pleased to hear my kids excitedly exclaim as they burst through the door after school, “Mom, you put all the Fall stuff up!  Yay!”

Are you excited about a new season?

~ Lora

 

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in before and after, decorating, family, home decorating, reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fall’s here!

  1. Sandra says:

    Lora, you’ve got such a knack for making a house a homey, gezellig home! I love the fall display on your mantel, and the oil painting fits there perfectly. I also like how you use the table top as a decor piece – very original! You’ve got me somewhat inspired, although we’ve got summer here still, and I’m hanging onto it for dear life! I do like fall, but fall sort of merges into winter without any distinction, thus making fall into a long-drawn out greyish, foggy affair, which finally breaks off in February as the early signs of spring bud in.

    • Lora says:

      Thanks for the nice comments. I’d hang onto summer too, if fall isn’t any great shakes. You guys do have a nice long spring so that makes up for only having three seasons 😉

  2. Marcia says:

    I’m impressed! My seasonal decorating is a few knick-knacks (mostly door prizes at Christmas parties) that I put out to amuse the children. And, of course, my New England window candles. I love what you did with your grandmother’s table top. Nice to have a memento or two around the house.
    What is the color of your living room paint? I want to stay with a shade of green in the new house, but not so dark as what I have here. It’s a fresh color, but still warm.
    Always enjoy your posts!

    • Lora says:

      Thanks! The paint in my living room is my third attempt to get it the right color green, and I must say that I am thoroughly pleased with this color. My living room gets northern and eastern light, so by noon there is no direct sunlight in it. A friend used this same color in a room with southern exposure and it read more yellow green than mine does. Anyway the color is a custom color which means I found a paint chip and had it color matched at home depot. I use the Behr premium plus ultra paint in eggshell (which is nice to work with) This is the code on the label:
      under the table heading CLRNT – _OZ_ , 384th,
      under the table heading AXL- 1, 64
      under the table heading BL – 0, 47
      under the table heading CL – 0, 65
      I wish I could show you the table. Basically the headings go across, the first number/letter I give you after the capitalized heading is under the heading, the second number is under the first number. Make any sense?

  3. Marcia says:

    Now that’s pretty complicated! I was hoping that it was Benjamin Moore fill-in-the-blank! Maybe the next time I’m down I’ll bring the chip I’m looking at now, and hold it against your walls. Thanks for the research.

    • Lora says:

      That would be fine. Whatever you do, buy some small samples of different greens. Even with this being the third time I did green in the livingroom, I bought three samples and painted them in different parts of the room and it totally helps in picking the right one. Each color varies so much depending on the lighting etc.

Leave a Reply

