Spinach Mushroom Omelet

I was feeling gourmet-ish and had a lot of different ingredients in the house, so I found an omelet recipe on Allrecipes.com. My DH loves omelets! I tweaked it to make the best omelet I have ever made. It was worth chopping a little bit of this and that, and assembling all the ingredients. It wasn’t heavy like a lot of omelets are. I think the fresh veggies, minimal cheese and cooking it in a small amount of oil helped to keep it light. This recipe makes one big omelet which can serve two adults, especially if you have a salad or something on the side.

IMG_9040

Ingredients:
4 eggs
1 tbsp parmesan cheese
1 tbsp shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp red pepper flakes
1/8 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp olive oil
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1/4 cup diced green onion
2 tbsp finely chopped red bell pepper
1 cup chopped fresh spinach
1/2 cup diced fresh tomato
2-3 tbsp chopped sundried tomato (optional)

Directions:
1)Beat eggs in a small bowl. Mix in Parmesan cheese, cheddar cheese, salt, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, nutmeg, and pepper.
2)Heat oil in large non stick skillet over medium heat; cook and stir mushrooms, green onion, and bell pepper till tender, about five minutes. Places spinach in skillet and cook until just wilted. Stir in diced tomato till warmed. Remove cooked vegetables. Clean the skillet out with a paper towel. Pour in egg mixture. Begin to cook, and then add vegetables evenly over top. As egg begins to set, lift the edges to allow the uncooked egg mixture to flow underneath. This allows all the egg to cook without over browning the bottom of the omelet. Once all the egg mixture is set (about ten minutes), flip one half onto the other half so that all the vegetables are in the middle layer of the omelet and it looks like a half circle. Cut in half and serve yourself and a friend.

Bon appetit!

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinach Mushroom Omelet

  1. I have most of the ingredients in my fridge right now! I may have to try it for lunch. And I’ve been feeling quite gourmet myself! I got a subscription to Cook’s magazine for my birthday from Josh, and I’ve been trying out some new recipes. Their steak recipe/recommendations yielded delicious results and their roasted artichokes were awesome too. Tonight we’re having garlic lime grilled pork! 🙂

  2. coletrain77 says:

    Looks relish! Now that we are home from our trip, I feel inspired to cook! Mike loves omelets, too, but I’m not such a fan of them. This looks very good though!
    Nic

Leave a Reply

