Beauty at home

I don’t know about you, but I need to make my surroundings a little prettier, a little more beautiful. When we moved into a new house you would find me whacking some nails into the walls to hang some “art” long before all the boxes are unpacked. I wanted to have a few accessories arranged here and there before I found out where I packed my blender. Creating a home means making it my home, my family’s home. Do you remember that Ma, in the Little House series, always unpacked her special treasures after they moved again and set them in a prominent spot as a way of saying “we’re home now” ?

Mixing kids into the beautification process requires a different perspective. Their toys and creations are probably not going to enhance that great color scheme you have going.  And I think you should say, “that’s OK, they live here too.”  Perfection in the beauty department doesn’t create a happy home.  It’s always a balance for me.  I need some order, some beauty, some creativity to function well.  But telling kids you can’t play here, no visible toys allowed, no messes and creativity, the decor and all has to match,  is a pretty dismal lesson to teach.  So we teeter from picture perfect (which is never attained) to complete disaster (which is attained), and try to find the balance in the middle.

Taylor made a shelf for Annika this Christmas.  He saw that she had a need for a pantry  😉 so he set about to provide some storage.  I had left over paint from the computer/play room so that helped provide the “matchy”  element.  I am pleased to say I am totally fine with his creation taking a prominent position in our hallway.  It’s functional, pretty (all those colorful cans in a row), and matches!  So every time I glance down the hallway, I see beauty:  inner beauty because I see the kind heart of a brother who wants to do something nice for his little sister, and outward beauty.

IMG_8975

IMG_8980

IMG_8977

How do you deal with the intersection of kids and beauty in your home?

~Lora

 

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in child's play, decorating, family, home decorating, kids, organization, reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beauty at home

  1. coletrain77 says:

    Hi Lora~ I was just thinking about this this morning as I cleaned the house. I think designated areas for kids toys and projects is a must. Even if that means working on the dining room table!!! On the other hand, this morning my kitchen table was covered with lego, a coloring project and some other project and I thought “enough is enough!!!!” Like you said, there has to be a balance! Taylor’s project looks so cute! I’d proudly display it!

  2. Lora says:

    Aren’t dining room tables meant for projects, crafts, puzzles or games? I mean what else are they used for? 😉

    • Certainly not formal dining 😉
      Love this post, Lora!
      Even before we had the sunroom, there was always room in our small living room for a basket of puzzles, a little chair at the coffee table for colouring, cars and a fisher price house on the bay windowsill, and two open bookcase shelves devoted two kids books and a few sturdy toys.
      As long as it is tidied up before supper 😉 it warms my heart to see evidence of children in this home!

    • Doreen says:

      Formal dining? 😉

  3. Doreen says:

    Love this post, Lora!
    Even before we had a sunroom, I had to make space in our small livingroom for a basket of puzzles, a small chair at the coffee table for colouring, cars and a Fisherprice house on the bay windowsill, and the lowest shelves in the bookcase for kids’ books and some sturdy toys. It would spread out during the day but get picked up before supper (usually). It warms my heart to see evidences of children in the home! So, yes, it is a welcome addition to our decor 🙂

  4. Ada kiefte says:

    They’ll always come home!!!!!!!!!!

  5. coletrain77 says:

    Here’s another thought I just had… Mom always let us decorate our bedrooms pretty much however we wanted. I remember using my bedroom to “learn” how to arrange and display my “treasures.” I still have one or two knicknacks that have made their way to Juliet’s room. Every time I see them, I remember buying them at garage sales and proudly displaying them in my bedroom… Trina’s room is like that, too.
    p.s. nic is coletrain77

Leave a Reply

