Snow days

It’s been a real winter this year. We’ve had so many snow days I’ve lost count of them. Yesterday it was very mild, in the 50’s, so the snow was melting fast. Today we woke up to a fresh, winter wonderland. (and it’s still snowing….) Given that it’s February, I don’t really mind. Spring is a couple months away, so we might as well enjoy the beauty of freshly fallen snow….   And the kids are enjoying the sledding and playing in the snow.

Nice view from the cozy window seat.

Nice view from the cozy window seat.

IMG_8753

IMG_8752 We have several bird feeders in our yard.  They are so rewarding to have… the kids have lists of birds they have identified, and I think it’s a cheerful sight…. to see all those birds having food to eat in such bad weather. IMG_8769

IMG_8779

IMG_8791

IMG_8786

And a woodstove…. that keeps the winter cozy as well.  I think tending a fire all day and seeing that warm glow in the background as you work in your house helps make winters much more bearable.  There’s something cheerful about dancing flames and a chair next to a warm fire.  A winter hearth chases the blues away.  Turning up the thermostat doesn’t create the same effect. 😉 Of course it means real work for my dear husband… chopping trees, splitting wood and hauling it inside.  Then, it’s my job to keep it going all day.  But it’s one I gladly do to keep the gezelegheid going.

IMG_8760

IMG_1816

How do you enjoy your winter days?

IMG_8742

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in birds, celebrations, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow days

  1. Irene says:

    So gezellig!! I love the real winter we’ve been having this year too… it beats months of brown, drab and damp days! Snow covering everything is one of my favorite sights

  2. Heidi says:

    I love going with our family and collecting wood, then coming in and having hot chocolate. Or hollowing out a snow pile to make a fort for the girls.

  3. Ada kiefte says:

    Beautiful pictures Lora & Gezellig for sure!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

