Favorite things

I was thinking about favorite products and tools that help me in the day to day life around our home. I can boil it down to three things. An extra-good, heavy duty iron, a product that saves me from laundry disasters, and quality chicken stock. Seriously. That’s it folks… it’s the little things that keep me happy 😉

IMG_8727

This iron makes me happy!  After years of searching for an iron which produces a lot of steam and doesn’t weigh thirty pounds (like the $100 Rowenta) I found a new type of iron.  The water goes into the base where it is heated, and then the steam travels down the fabric-type cord and out of the heated iron.  The water/steam last for 1 1/2 to 2 hrs of steady use.  The steam it produces does not compare to anything else I have used.  One swipe and all the wrinkles are out!  I can’t even use it on full steam and heat for fear of burning myself. It’s pricey but worth it to me since I am a self proclaimed ironing addict.  I hate wrinkled cotton!  There are more professional models and brands that are much more expensive than this already expensive iron, but this is working fine for me.  Use your 20% off at Bed Bath and Beyond to help deal with sticker shock.

IMG_8730

Have you ever washed new clothes (even in cold water) to find that dye from the t-shirt or pants ran onto the other clothes and now they are ruined?  You know you will NEVER get that out! I have a preventive solution for you.  (Trumpet sound….. ) Shout Color Catcher! These work like a charm and have prevented many laundry disasters here.  They are totally worth the money.  Our big box store (BJ’s) carries them in multipacks.  It’s just a sheet you throw in the wash with the laundry and it collects the dye floating around in the water.  I use it whenever I wash new clothing for the first time, especially when the items are multiple colors.  I also use them when I want to wash a few different colored items and say, one of them is navy or red (which are notorious runners).

IMG_8733

My final favorite thing is this chicken base which I use to make chicken stock.  One teaspoon mixed with one cup boiling water equals one cup broth.  You should keep it in the refrigerator once the jar is opened.  It gives such great depth of flavor to recipes that call for chicken stock.  You can make it as strong as you like, and it beats canned chicken stock any day.

I should be getting some financial remuneration for recommending these products, no? 🙂

What are your favorite things?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in cooking, handy household tips. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Favorite things

  1. I’ll have to try out the chicken base! As for ironing, I DO iron, but as little as possible. 😉

  2. Marcia says:

    A fellow ironing junkie – you must be over 40! I have gone through 2 of the HEAVY Rowentas, and now have a cheaper iron since I was debating fixing the last one. And no, I don’t drop them; they just seem to wear out. Maybe I’ll check out this model, though. I actually don’t mind the ones with heft. Makes me feel like I’m really working!

    • Lora says:

      I was using a cheaper one too, which steamed adequately (better conventional Rowenta’s) but died after 8 months. Since it had a year warranty, we contacted the company, had to send the cord with plug back and got a new one shipped to us free of charge. However, this happened 4 times in a row! Other irons did not last either. They are made for the once a month swipe at a skirt or blouse i guess. No one irons anymore. So far I have had this iron almost a year and it’s going strong!

      • Marcia says:

        I looked at BB&B, and there are 2 models that look like this. When you have a minute, can you check which one you have, and let me know the model #? No sense getting the more expensive one if the lesser does the trick.
        Keep pressing away – it shows!

  3. Lora says:

    The number underneath is REF: DG5030u0/B80-4312R. It’s called the Rowenta Pro Iron Steam Station. I hope this helps. Do you have a 20% off coupon? Some details you should know before you buy… It takes ten minutes to heat up. Regular water is fine. And there is no auto shut off. So I tend to do big ironing sessions, rather than here and there some.

  4. Marcia says:

    Good; there were 2 lookalikes, and the other was $300! My mother has those coupons whenever I go down. There’s a BB&B coming to Brantford, but the price is usually higher in Canada. I’ll have to check though.
    On the way back to Canada at Christmas, we stopped at BB&B in Batavia, and got a double waffle maker (the hotel sort). I told the clerk I’d like a coupon if he had one, and he gave me a 20% in exchange for my email address. My kids hate when I do that sort of thing, but I grew up shopping downtown Passaic!

  5. Joanne says:

    I like ironing too!!! But maybe that’s because I only have a few things per week – a couple of Wouter’s shirts, some tea towels, pillow cases and zak doeks. in the summer, a few skirts/pants. I do do my ironing every week b/c then I still enjoy it…if it becomes mountains, than it becomes a chore.

Leave a Reply

