New mercies

Some days you’re just putting one foot ahead of the other. Just do the next thing… don’t stop or you might stop altogether. Not unlike spinning your tires up a snowy hill. If you stop you’re done for. Just move ahead an inch at a time.
It’s been a bit of a slog lately. Sick kids, no sleep, fussy baby… you get that familiar picture don’t you? The evenings loom dark and ominous.

IMG_8167

I never realized how much I dislike the early nights (dark by 5pm). Then a whirlwind of dinner (Finish your food! Stay on your chair!), homework, baths, snack of fruit (but I don’t like grapes!), bedtime story, rock and sing, the three year old is in bed. Ooops, I forgot to fill the vaporizer and put Vicks on her chest. Look at her, not in bed five minutes and she’s coughing up a lung. It’s going to be a long night. I glance despairingly at the two full baskets of laundry needing folding and ironing. That doesn’t happen at night anymore, instead it’s the dance and jiggle with the baby, wearing a path up and down the hall. Finally it’s 11 pm. Everyone is asleep, and I will join them. Until the coughing kicks up down the hall, and it’s more medicine, more pillows to prop the sick girl up in bed and another rock and sing.

IMG_8072
The next morning the sun is shining gloriously, the baby smiles, Annika got herself dressed :),  the evening is forgotten… shelved with all those evenings we’ve been having the past months.

It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning, great is Thy faithfulness.  Lamentations 3:22-23

God is merciful; I haven’t been consumed by the endless demands and dark nights, and my own short temper.  He gives us a new day, a fresh start.  Thank Him for the new day and grace extended, yet again.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in faith, family, kids, reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New mercies

  1. Laurens Roth says:

    Nice reality check, Lora. Keep looking upward. God bless! Love Dad

Leave a Reply

