Easy Beef Stew in your slow cooker

Soccer season is upon us which means three kids have practices after school (Wed, Thurs, Friday), and Saturday morning is filled with three different games. This makes meal planning and preparing a challenge sometimes…. especially when I attend Jeremy’s practices from 4:30-5:30. I’m not super keen on crock pot meals in general, but I found a great beef stew recipe which is simple and tasty (and the kids like!) I have a feeling it will be used several times this fall.

IMG_7615

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/2 lb beef roast, cut in small cubes (I used chuck beef cubes because they are less lean and stay moist and tender)

3 cups sliced carrots

3 cups diced potatoes

1 large yellow onion sliced/chopped

3 teaspoon quick-cooking tapioca (found in the baking aisle of your grocery store)

1/2 – 1 tsp pepper

(2) 8 oz can tomato sauce

1 1/2 cup beef broth (you can use water but then add 1-2 tsp salt to the stew)

2 tbsp brown sugar

Combine beef and vegetables in slow cooker.  Sprinkle with tapioca, salt (if you’re not using beef broth) and pepper. Combine tomato sauce and broth.  Pour over ingredients in slow cooker.  Sprinkle with brown sugar.  Cover and cook on low for 8 hrs, or high for 4 hrs.  Serves about 6 adults.

What are your favorite crock pot/prepare-ahead meals?

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in cooking, menu planning, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Beef Stew in your slow cooker

  1. Marcia says:

    I’ve been making a very similar stew for many years, with the addition of some burgundy wine. If you like beef bourguignon, you would like the flavor. Also, tapioca flour (bulk barn) is less expensive and works equally well.
    Our favorite crock pot meal? Well, to be honest we’ve outgrown crock pots, but I have a 13 quart (yes, you read that right!) LeCreuset which gets lots of use in the winter. One of our favorites is Margot Oliver’s apple and pork chop bake. I will gladly share the recipe with you if you’d like it.

    • Lora says:

      I would be interested, Marcia! Quick question though… does it keep the pork chops moist? That’s the challenge I find with pork chops. (and my kids just can’t eat any meat that’s dry :))

  2. Marcia says:

    I find these pork chops quite moist, but I do them in an enamalled cast pan, which is really good at not drying things out. I think that they would do fine in a crock pot, too.

    Margo Oliver’s Pork Chop and Apple Bake
    6 pork chops
    salt, pepper, sage to taste
    3 tart cooking apples
    1 large onion
    3 T. molasses
    3 T. flour
    2 c. boiling water
    1 t. salt (I reduce this)
    1/8 t. pepper
    1 T. vinegar
    1/2 c. sultana raisins
    Oven to 350. Brown seasoned chops. Remove from pan. Stir flour into pan drippings and brown. Add boiling water and cook until thick and smooth. Stir in salt, pepper, vinegar,and raisins. Arrange chops in pan and cover with sliced, peeled apples and paper-thin onions. Pour sauce over top.
    Cover tightly and bake for 1 hour 15 min. in the oven, longer if using a slow cooker.

  3. Nicole says:

    LOVE my crockpot and use it often! Favourites here are: chili (can you make it any other way??) stew (sometimes I use cubed beef, and for a change, scramble fry ground beef and use it) roast beef, chicken fettucine or chicken with rice, pulled pork, ribs, cheeseburger soup, enchilada casserole, stuffing, mashed potatotes (at Christmas, Thanksgiving etc.) and lastly, homemade yogurt. Did I mention I use it often?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

