The Shore

This summer is flying by and I’m trying to make sure we fit in some fun things. Going to the shore (in NJ parlance) is a must for the kids. This week my sister Irene prompted me to pack up the umbrella, beach chairs and all the rest to spend a day at Ocean Grove.
(Confession: I am not a beach person – sweaty and sticky on the beach with sand getting in your sandwich and chasing toddlers from big waves… not my thing) However, this time was easier, the kids are older and more independent, the waves weren’t big (too bad for the kids, good for mom) and it wasn’t HOT…. just warm. We had fun… the kids enjoyed it and I survived.Β  Plus, you get an amazing workout dragging the beach cart for a mile over deep hot sand! πŸ˜‰

IMG_7453

IMG_7452

DSC02803

IMG_7440

IMG_7438

DSC02797

Thanks Irene, for getting me to the shore… we plan to go ONE more time this summer. πŸ™‚

DSC02763

One more benefit of having your aunty visiting in the summer πŸ˜‰

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in beach, child's play, family, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Shore

  1. Marcia says:

    Our kids had a real “shore” vacation last summer for the first time, and they thoroughly enjoyed it. They are currently ruing the fact that we aren’t headed back to Fenwick Island this year. I know just what you mean about the sandy sandwiches. All part of the experience!

    • Lora says:

      Where is Fenwick Island? We usually do a beach vacation every other year, but it’s on Georgian Bay, so the sand isn’t sticky. Salt water makes everything worse in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

