Iris Garden

One hot sunny morning a month ago, my sister, mom and I went to the iris gardens in Montclair. I generally liked irises but felt that from a distance they don’t look that special in bloom and the foliage after they bloom isn’t the most attractive.  However, after spending the morning checking out hundreds of beautiful varieties, I think I’ve changed my mind. They are truly glorious when they are in full bloom. Now that I’ve ripped up my entire perennial garden (more on that in another post) I plan to strategically place irises in the new garden. I think they need to be seen up close to appreciate, and their foliage, when not in bloom, needs be disguised by other plants nearby. So I plan to put some near the path, but I need suggestions for what to pair them with. Something that blooms in late spring or summer, and can take full sun. Any suggestions?

Enjoy these pictures of some of the beautiful irises we saw:

IMG_6764

IMG_6766

IMG_6768

IMG_6767

IMG_6771 IMG_6772

IMG_6769

IMG_6774

IMG_6775

IMG_6777

Which iris did you like the best?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in garden, plants. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Iris Garden

  1. Marcia says:

    Lora, you have this way of making me quite homesick! I love irises, and always loved that garden, too. I have had minimal luck with mine blooming; my neighbor tells me that I’ve planted them too deep, so it may be time to lift them up.
    All of these are lovely – the only irises I don’t like are the yellow/brown – not my color. I have mine planted at the back of perennial geranium, spiderwort, and Japanese anemone. Those are all shades of purple, by the way.

    • Lora says:

      I’m going to look those perennials up! The couple of varieties of irises I do have bloomed faithfully in poor sandy soil and full sun. I do believe the rhizomes are not planted very deep so try lifting them a little.

  2. Marcia says:

    If you can’t find the Japanese anemone in NJ, I will try to bring a piece for you. I got mine from Tanya B. and it spreads prolifically. The blooms are stunning.

    • Lora says:

      I checked them out online and they look great! Do yours bloom in the fall? I find by midsummer it’s hard for a perennial garden to look nice – esp. here since it’s hotter and thing bloom sooner. So late summer and fall blooming flowers are what I’m looking for.

  3. Nicole says:

    Before our reno destroyed all my front flower beds, I had the nicest deep purple Siberian iris – much smaller and more delicate than the blooms above. I planted it next to deep pink phlox and hostas. All this talk of irises is making me want to go out and get a new one!!!

    • Lora says:

      They are very pretty as well. I have some siberian (or dutch?) irises in three different spots and I like them because their foliage is more delicate so when the flowers fade, they just look like ornamental grass.

  4. Marcia says:

    It is a later bloom, but here we see it by August, so I imagine you would in NJ, too. If you want a late bloomer (here it’s still blooming when frost hits) try monk’s hood. It grows quite tall, so you would want it at the back of your garden.

Leave a Reply

