Impulsive

I generally don’t consider myself an impulsive person. I kind of like predictability in my life. Some might describe me as a little type A personality. I have routines and like to stick to them. But then I hear of those organized folks who have time slots for every chore….. who plan out their house cleaning and gardening and stick to it. That’s when I realize that I’m not Little Miss Organized Planner. In fact the way I usually accomplish things that are out of the ordinary rhythm of life is through being impulsive.  I think this might be a family trait. I know I share it with at least one sister. 😉  There I’ll be, in nice clothes and good shoes and I”ll spot a weed in the flower garden. Before you know it I’m a hot, sweaty mess with dirt in between my sandal-ed feet, hair askew, grubby hands, transplanting a perennial.  I own many pair of gardening gloves but they rarely get worn because my gardening time is seldom planned.

Generally this seems to be the way I get into most extra-curricular things.  The other day I noticed some lint in the dryer after I had pulled out the filter screen. I pulled some fluff out and the next thing you know, I’ve got a screwdriver and I’m taking apart the machine and poking the cavity  with a skewer.  You wouldn’t believe how much lint I got out of our dryer (even though I am a faithful lint screen cleaner).  So that’s the paradox of my life… I like my routines, especially with the kids, but anything beyond the basic stuff like eating and laundry, baths and bedtimes get done at the whim of my impulses.

What about you guys?  Anyone else relate to this?

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in about me, routines. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impulsive

  1. Irene says:

    I am too! You can plan out time slots to do major cleaning, organizing or projects but if you ain’t in the mood it just won’t happen! That’s how i got so much done this week on my 3 1/2 days off. I was in the mood and just went for it. Now we have a cleaned and organized basement and garage, a weeded garden and a refurbished dresser! 🙂

Leave a Reply

