That golden hour

I don’t want to turn into one of those bloggers who write big apologies after a lengthy absence and promise to be more faithful.  But here I am, feeling slightly foolish for abandoning the blog for half a month while life just happened.  But happened it did, and when I think of what we all accomplished this month (finishing off the basement), and all the visitors :),  plus head colds and spring break…. it shouldn’t surprise me that this whole blog venture got put to the side.  Meanwhile I have been mentally composing various posts, of which I am sure I will forget most before they get published.

Let me start by sharing that we had a brief vacation in the third week of April to Montauk, a town at the very end of Long Island, NY.  On our first evening there we went for a walk along the cliffs above the Atlantic Ocean during what I like to think of as the golden hour.  You know the time of day when the sun is sinking and casts that glorious warm light on everything!  You can imagine all your woes away… everything is golden then.  Does anyone else get a thrill when you’re outside and the slanting rays make all the colors vibrant, and beauty runs rampant?  This is the best time of day to take pictures.  Even a total point and shoot amateur like me can capture some of the wonder.

IMG_6415

IMG_6418

IMG_6421

IMG_6430

IMG_6429

IMG_6437

IMG_6443

IMG_6454

Isn’t God’s creation beautiful?  We need to remember to send our pleasure in His world back to Him and give Him thanks for all this beauty.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in faith, family, nature, reflection, sight seeing, wild life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That golden hour

  1. Marcia says:

    Ah, Montauk – how long it’s been. I still miss the ocean; I was meant to live closer to the sea.

    • Lora vg says:

      Well, I like visiting the sea…. But I might get tired of the continual wind if I lived there. When did you go to Montauk?

      • Marcia says:

        I went with my parents after Jeff and Emily’s wedding on Long Island, which is 20 some years ago.
        I never tire of the ocean; I find it mesmerizing to watch the waves, and nothing beats a swim in the surf! We were regulars at Ocean Grove throughout my childhood.

  2. Phil G. says:

    Beautiful! Also, don’t feel the need to apologize, even if it’s been a while…we all understand, and we get the next post whenever it shows up!

  3. Sandra says:

    Beautiful pictures! I love the one of the deer too. Aren’t mini vacations the best?

    • Lora says:

      Well yes and no. This was was stressful in the sense we really didn’t have time for it. But once we were there it was relaxing and the kids loved it. But we payed for it when we got home since we had sooo much to do. But that is a story for another time. Perhaps the break gave us enough energy to push through the next week. 🙂

      • Doreen says:

        Keep doing minivacations, stressful though they are to organize. Years later nNone of you will remember what was so important to be done at home, but the memory of that relaxed time together will be cherished. You only have NOW for building family ties. I tell myself that someday I will be able to catch up on all the deep cleaning that needs doing, but I’ll never be able to “catch up” on time spent with the kids!

  4. Very nice pictures…glad you had a relaxing time!

Leave a Reply

