Scent and memory

Isn’t it amazing how smell can transport you back to a memory, a feeling, a place in an instant? I’ve read that your sense of smell is the strongest trigger of memory, more than  sight. Today I went for a walk with Annika. The weather was absolutely gorgeous, 75F, sunny, and definitely a lovely foretaste of May weather. We walked past a new house being constructed in our neighborhood and instantly I felt a sense of anticipation, excitement and wonder. I caught a whiff of the new lumber they were using to build the house and I was amazed how quickly the emotions came.

I remember as a child, when my dad was building the first house, we loved to see the progress and run through the rooms. Construction became part of my DNA. While we lived there, the property behind us was developed and three new houses were put up. In the evening, after the workmen left, we would go through the houses, climbing up the 2×6 ramp and look around. I would try and figure out which room was what, and where the kitchen was etc. by the way the room was framed or how the pipes were roughed in.  Sometimes I was lucky enough to look through the blueprints left by the construction workers. Even though I was in my early teens, house construction was fascinating to me.

My dad then built our second house and I was a lot older (around twenty I think). I remember talking about the plans, giving suggestions (probably unsolicited) and pouring over the blue prints. Now I’ve been living with our own projects and additions for more years than I care to admit. We’re definitely at the end of the road now, with the basement being nearly completed. While it’s good to be DONE, I must admit the smell of fresh lumber does quicken the pulse a little.  It’s all about dreams and possibilities.

Here’s some favourite oldies from the summer of 2007:

house project summer 2007 001

house project summer 2007 016

house project summer 2007 006

Sometimes I think we were crazy….  but most of the time I think we were just following our DNA. 🙂

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in reflection, renovations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

