Together

Despite the gray weather, flurries, and threatening of storms the kids have been having a lot of fun playing outside together. It makes me very happy to see all the kids playing together. It’s what I’ve always hoped for, what I did as a kid, and what I love to see. Age segregation, with each kid having their own friends and their own play, is no way to create memories with your siblings.  (As a little aside, it is very possible to have a cohesive family with kids that will play with each other when you DON”T homeschool.  Just sayin”…. 🙂)

Today they were playing some sort of war game with weapons of sticks. Lots of fun, right? This world is probably a lot more complicated now than when I was a kid, but kids will still play if we allow them to.  Fresh air, imagination and fun play sure beat those screens they could be glued to (if we let them).

IMG_6043

IMG_6046

IMG_6040

IMG_6055

IMG_6052

IMG_6050

Katrina's new glasses! :)

Katrina’s new glasses! 🙂

What do you do to encourage “together” play?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in child's play, family, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Together

  1. Joni says:

    Our kids love coming up with elaborate plays that they video on our old recorder. They design sets and create elaborate costumes complete with magic marker moustaches ( and chest hair!) and laugh and laugh as they do take after take . Big sis Lena is always the director with tonnes of creative ideas and they all have a role ( Ella used to be the fairy at the end that came in for a little ballerina dance – now she has speaking parts much to her great delight!) we love to see them playing together and treasure the finished product!!

    • Lora says:

      That’s great Joni! I love the idea of a family play. When I was a kid we did that as well. Katrina has an annual sleepover with some girls, and they always put on a play, with Katrina organizing and directing and providing the most dramatic parts! They dig up costumes, make sets, rehearse, and then I video it and it’s a lot of fun!

  2. Irene says:

    So fun! 🙂
    As an aside, I love Trina’s new glasses!

  3. Doreen says:

    How fun, Joni! That brings back memories! We used to put on productions of the shoemaker andthe elves with lighting, costume and background music, and even wrote an “opera” once! Looking at the old video recording will be such a laugh for your family later on!

Leave a Reply

