things I learned while my dh was away

My dh (dear husband) was away all of last week. I always dislike his time away from the family, although it only occurs about four times a year. This was a longer trip than normal, but not as bad as the ten day trip to Malawi last January.  That absence was memorable because I contracted the noro virus which is the most miserable experience one can have.  Once I recovered I lived in great anxiety that the kids would get it. Thank God they did not.

This past week went really well, and I realized that it’s not all that bad.  I learned some things about myself, and about single parenting.

1) You can usually do more than you think you can.  This means you can get all the kids up and out of the house having eaten breakfast, with their lunches and homework packed, looking respectable, by 8:10. (no big deal for you early birds of which I am not)                   2) Even though I never think about putting out the garbage and recycling, I remembered to do so – twice.
3) You can get all your own work done, plus all the helpful things your husband usually does, if you hustle (and avoid temptations like Larkrise to Candleford).
4) You tend to have more conversations with yourself, usually silently, since there is no other adult to talk to.                                                                                                                              5) It’s enough to just keep the household running, I can’t imagine working full time on top of it all.                                                                                                                                                       6) Even though the kids were great, they miss their daddy more than words can say.             7) A math challenged child can do  homework on her own when her mom tells her she has no clue how to do long division.                                                                                                        8) I didn’t mind nocturnal visitors since there was more room in the bed….                              9)  but going to bed alone stinks.                                                                                                          10) There’s nothing like your husband coming home to a calm, clean, cozy house with happy, scrubbed kids and a cheerful wife – at least that’s what he says 😉

~Lora

Oh, and one final thing I learned is that with dh away, we use 1/3 less dishes! 😛

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in family, parenting, reflection, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to things I learned while my dh was away

  1. Daniel says:

    Time to brush up on your arithmetic skills 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    You succumbing to Larkrise to Candleford too? And it’s such a long series…but deliciously relaxing at the end of the day!
    I’m without a DH for usually only 5 days in a row (England trips), say only once or twice a year. But next week he’s off to Austria for a ski holiday, but I insisted that someone come here to keep me company – 8 days is a LONG time! So Heidi’s flying in next week!
    I would say, though, that absence definitely makes the heart grow fonder! And I would definitely agree with you that we are more capable than we think 🙂

    • Lora says:

      Hey Sandra, so glad Heidi is coming! That should be fun 🙂 I resisted watching anything while Scott was gone, (he actually likes it too so he wouldn’t want to miss) Plus I had NO time! Take care and thanks for being such a responsive reader. 🙂

  3. Doreen says:

    Number 4 on your list. So THAT’S why I have silent conversations with myself! John’s gone from 7:00 a.m. till dinner’s on the table and I have to have a little adult conversation, besides with the doctor or grocery clerk 🙂

  4. ayg says:

    🙂 I love the little ps as the end. So true. 🙂 Also, #9 = hit the nail on the head. Hate. It.

Leave a Reply

