Thrifty skirt makeover

I get hand-me-downs for Katrina which we really appreciate. Occasionally something comes our way and it’s really too dated. She received a jumper (remember those?) which was made of a nice blue and black plaid. I really liked the fabric and knew it would go well with a black, velour jacket I had picked up at the end of the winter season last year. Looking at the jumper I realized there was plenty of fabric to make a simple skirt. So… the next time my mom came down to visit, we worked on it, and thanks to her sewing skills it turned out well and got a second life.
The before pic is a little funny because we already cut the fabric and then I thought to take a picture. So we pieced it back together for the picture. 🙂

IMG_4391

Here’s the after picture.  We just simply made an elastic waistband, and put two gussets (a triangle of fabric which makes this skirt have a little flare instead of just being a simple A-line skirt) in the bottom of the skirt… front and back, along the seam.

IMG_5484 IMG_5487

Thanks to my mom, she updated a skirt for me as well which I’ll share at another time.  What thrifty things have you done to update clothing?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in bargains, before and after, do-it-yourself, saving money. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thrifty skirt makeover

  1. Nicolette says:

    i think scarves can give any outfit an update. wear a cool scarf and a boring outfit has a new life… great idea with the jumper… i remember wearing those… 🙂

Leave a Reply

