Bedroom completed

Hello everyone.  I hope you all had a productive weekend.  I got a lot of housework done on Saturday which felt good.  This afternoon and evening I expect to wield a paint brush in our master bath because guess what?  We’re getting the floor tiled this week.  Hurray!

I promised one more installment of Katrina’s bedroom makeover. This is going to be kind of long and picture heavy, so if you aren’t interested in the details, just whip down to the pictures. 🙂  We had a makeover because we had a house fire, so we had to completely redo her room (which was kind of fun, to be honest)  The walls in her room before the fire were aqua, with red accents in the form of a coverlet, the curtain (which I salvaged and still hangs in front of the big arched windows) and some other items.  Unfortunately I have no pictures of her room like this since she had moved in only a month before the fire.  Her furniture was a bleached pine which looked good against the aqua walls.  So the best before pics are the ones right after the fire, which makes the after pics look even more dramatic!

IMG_5222    DSC07482

Given that her furniture was going to be charcoal this time around (see previous two posts), I wanted a more neutral wall color.  Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m not really a neutral color kind of girl.  However my need for color came out on the ceiling.  It is painted Enamelware by Martha Stewart, from Home Depot.  I just love the soft blue ceiling, and it helped pull things together.  It matches her comforter and pillows on her bed (purchased from Target).

IMG_5565

I found cute lamps with french script on the shades at Walmart. The white lamp on the dresser, which Katrina picked out at Home Goods, started the whole direction for her room.  Katrina received the mannequin dress form for her birthday.  It has provided lots of fun for her and her friends as they dress it with clothes and fabric.  The chest at the end of the bed was purchased from a garage sale sixteen years ago. The canvases on the wall are from Home Goods as well.  I wanted to introduce something more playful and joyful, so that the room wouldn’t get too grown up and serious.

IMG_5566

IMG_5569

We really wanted a chandelier.  I looked on Craigslist for several weeks, but the real crystal ones were still too pricey.  I considered buying a brass one and spray painting it, but it still wouldn’t have that bling factor.  Frankly, with the furniture project, a baby and packing, I had enough on my plate.  I found many nice, reasonably priced chandeliers on Overstock.com.  Shipping is only $3.95 not matter what you buy.  I was very happy with the result.  It was a little modern, to keep the room current, but still had that sparkly effect.

IMG_5570

Bookcases were a must when it comes to my daughter and her big book collection.  These are from IKEA and they are solid wood.  I think the neutral paint/stain goes well with the wall, and they fit exactly in the space that we had for them.

IMG_5574

IMG_5575

IMG_5585

There’s a kind of nook in the front of Katrina’s room.  When I saw these red chairs at a garage sale, I knew we could use them in her room.  The funny thing is that the fabric on the chairs was designed by my father-in-law who worked for Burlington.  Under the tablecloth is a beat up but sturdy table. The veneer on the top is ripped up and I have a dream  delusion of repairing it by modge podging sheet music on the table top and painting the base.  It’s not a priority right now so we shall see….  The red book case is from my youth.  The curtain is made of two cotton panels from IKEA sewn together with a border on the bottom with fabric purchased at Walmart.  I wanted to provide privacy and light control, which is hard when you have transom windows.  (BTW we got the transom windows on ebay for $125 – woo hoo) The curtain is clipped up with rings and runs on a tight cable which is hidden from view, as the ceiling is higher in front of the windows.  You can get this system at IKEA.

IMG_5580

IMG_5578

IMG_5588

IMG_5589

We used to have a small closet where Katrina’s desk is, but had the chance to get rid of it after the fire.  One walk in closet is enough. 🙂  This made for a great space to put the desk.  It is a basic steel desk with formica top from IKEA.  I used shelves and supports  from IKEA (with the same finish as the book case) to fill in the space on the right.  The chair  is also from IKEA, and the drawers and organizers under the desk were things we already had and used for other purposes in the past.  The black rail system hanging on the wall is a kitchen system from IKEA as well.  It helps get things off of the desk so she has room to paint or do other crafts.  The red desk lamp came from IKEA as well as the wooden dowel paper holder. Finally the red African village scene, is a painting bought in Malawi at a dusty market by my husband last year. I finally got it framed last month.

Lest anyone think that I dream up a big design for the room overnight…. I don’t.  I just started with some vague ideas, and parameters.  For instance, I knew I wanted the front wall around the window painted red.  But I didn’t want the whole room defined by red. I got my direction more set once we bought the furniture, and then slowly picked up things here and there.  I got Katrina’s desk area organized by going to IKEA with lots of measurements, and just roaming and thinking about what would work.  In her nook area, I picked up the chairs before I knew where I would use them.  Previously Katrina had kept all her doll stuff in that area.  But she was getting older, so now they are stored in the trunk, which I let her use.  Instead of using the chairs for her desk (as I imagined) they ended up with a table which she uses for playing with friends.  The table was a cast off from a relative and had been hanging around in our attic for awhile.

So I guess what I’m saying is that when you have the chance to do a room over, I think the best way is to let it evolve.  You will change your mind about things as you find different items.  That’s how I like to work…. I am totally NOT into the idea of going into a showroom and buying a room.  It takes more time my way, but the results are more personal, I think, plus you can save a lot of money. 🙂

What are your tips for designing a room?  How do you get your ideas?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in before and after, decorating, do-it-yourself, home decorating, storage ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bedroom completed

  1. arlene1027 says:

    Love your picture window and book shelves.

  2. Sandra says:

    Looks amazing! Katrina must love her room 🙂

Leave a Reply

