After – bedroom furniture

In the last two months before we moved back into our house (after our house fire made us leave for nine months) I was frantically working on my daughters “new” bedroom furniture. She liked the idea of some Paris accents (lamps and pictures) so I was looking for a French/Italian style set. I found one on Craigslist for $35 and away I went, sanding and painting and waxing. (For more details on the painting check out the previous post.) I think this project was the reason my sister had to come over just before moving day and give me a big hand in packing ! 🙂 Well, here are some after pictures. Just to refresh your memory, I’ll begin with one before pic.

IMG_6062

And now the best part:

IMG_5554

IMG_5556

IMG_5557

IMG_5560

IMG_5565

When I was refinishing this set, I wasn’t sure how much to distress the pieces.  In the end I was happy with the result.  When you enter the room and glance at the furniture, they don’t look majorly distressed, but the up close pictures show you how much paint I did sand away.  This fit my style since I’m not into very shabby chic.

IMG_5580

In the near future, I hope to show you more pictures of how her bedroom turned out.  We always tease her that she has the best room in the house.  But she has to pay…  by giving up her room for guests, so that’s a pretty good deal, isn’t it? 🙂

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in before and after, decorating, do-it-yourself, painting, saving money. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to After – bedroom furniture

  1. sarah says:

    ok so here’s my question? how did u manage to pick the paint…and then pick all the colors for the room and pull this off? it looks sooooo good! i’d need a decorator to make a room look this great!

    • Lora says:

      Thanks Sarah! I saw the color painted ceiling idea on several blogs and was keen to try it. It really helped bring in the soft blue green color my daughter wanted without being too garish. We are really happy with it… It’s something she’s grown into rather than something that’ll be too juvenile for a teenage in the future.

  2. Karen says:

    You are AMAZING!!! I love it! 😀

  3. Joanne says:

    Wow!!! the furniture looks fantastic!

  4. Tanya says:

    Looks amazing!! I better not show my girls otherwise they will want me to start on their room 🙂

    • Lora says:

      Tell them you have to have a house fire to get a whole room redo. I doubt I would ever have done all that refinishing etc. Without the impetus of needing furniture for her room because all her stuff was destroyed.

Leave a Reply

