Before – bedroom furniture

I have been meaning to post this for quite awhile, but never got to it for a variety of reasons. I’d like to show you the power of paint to radically change the look of furniture. This February we’ll reach the second anniversary of our house fire. It started in the chimney and spread through the attic and two children’s bedrooms. Our daughters room was the hardest hit, with all her furniture being ruined. The particularly sad part about this for her was that I had just finished doing her room completely over. We had used it for several years, but when we finished our master bedroom construction and moved in there, I repainted and decorated the room for her. So the pressure was on to create something as nice as the room she had had (which had a beautiful four poster cherry bed – picked up for $25 at Salvation Army;))
I searched Craigslist for several weeks during the summer we were living in the rental house. I found a really gaudy Italian style set for $35. It was in great shape, and I was itching to try Annie Sloane’s chalk paint on it. I ordered the paint and the wax, and away I went.  So here are the lovely before pics:

IMG_6062 IMG_6063 IMG_6066 IMG_6067 IMG_6068

The great thing about Annie Sloane chalk pain (not to be confused with chalkboard paint) is that you can paint pretty much anything with out sanding or priming.  Just clean the furniture first, and away you go. The paint is very pricey, but you use very little to cover something.  One coat is almost enough.  I used a little more than half a quart for the dresser, two night stands, a mirror and head board. It is water based and it dries really quickly so you need to work fast.  However, if you make mistakes it’s super easy to sand out.  Sanding to distress the furniture also works great.  The paint dries very flat (no sheen at all) and you can just sand away the amount you want to see through the paint.  Some people layer colors so that they can sand through to the first color.  Since this set was brown, I was fine with sanding the edges and raised parts, to allow the brown to peek through the charcoal paint.  Once you are finished painting, you have to seal the piece, either with a soft wax, or polyurethane.  This part was trickier for me, I found it hard to buff out the wax without leaving lint or a haze.  I ended up using a wipe on polyurethane for one of the nightstands and the head board and mirror.  The final result was the same, a soft matte finish.  I must say the wax has held up perfectly, and should the finish begin to wear, or say you get some coffee cup rings, you can reapply the wax, let it sink in and buff it out. Here are some pictures of the painting process.  One of the challenging parts was keeping my ten month old from helping me.  I used another piece of furniture to block her way. 🙂

IMG_6720 IMG_6721

I hope to show you the after pictures very soon :).  But here’s a sneak peak:

IMG_0794

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in bargains, before and after, decorating, do-it-yourself, painting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Before – bedroom furniture

  1. Asriel Greendyk says:

    gaa..you better post them soon! I can’t wait to see what the set looks like. It’s so easy to be put off by ‘gaudy’ pieces. But they are almost always gems underneath (or on top as this case may be).

  2. this looks awesome Lora! I so enjoy looking at your before and after pics! Looking forward to more! well done

  3. Irene says:

    Wow Lora! I didn’t realize how much work you put into her set and what it looked like before hand! Her bedroom sets looks so nice now 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Amazing! Looking forward to seeing the whole set! Good for you!!

  5. kmdutchlife says:

    Love, love, love it!!!

  6. Marce says:

    Nice! It is easy to get free furniture here in Calgary, I will have to keep this paint technique in mind.

Leave a Reply

