Untidy house = untidy mind

So I have some random thoughts running through my head that I’d thought I’d share. Looking around my house this past Thursday, I know I’ve totally fallen off the tidy house wagon. I’m not sure when that wagon took off without me but it must have happened in December or maybe earlier. The problem with mess is that it clutters your mind and totally impacts efficiency.  You end up feeling like you’re treading water (or maybe drowning) instead of making progress.

And I simply can’t keep this house neat on my own. I really need to get back to having the kids clean up their assigned areas.  We had a good routine going at one time….  I need to start remembering to remind them to clean up their areas, and it has to happen well before bedtime!  Which means meals must be on time, homework begun before or immediately after dinner, showers done 45 minutes before bedtime, etc. etc.  See how inserting one more thing just adds more pressure?  But if I don’t, I’ll feel more pressure and stress over the chaos.  If you’re not in the school age phase of life with a bunch of kids, you may not realize how relaxed your evenings are.  Honestly, if I don’t constantly watch the clock, get the kids through their routines, keep everything rolling, life would be one big, fat mess, with kids going far too late to bed, probably dirty, being super cranky in the morning and the house a pig sty.

So it’s time to clear this house and clear my mind.  How does an untidy house effect you?

~Lora

Oh and one more thing…. I am still purging.  I went through my collection of tablecloths, passed on a cute vintage one with matching napkins to a sister, and got rid of some more.  I have a new place to hang them (thanks hubby 🙂 and I have plans for one of my coat closets.

A new spot for my tablecloths in the laundry room/pantry. (Hardly looks like I purged, eh?)

A new spot for my tablecloths in the laundry room/pantry. (Hardly looks like I purged, eh?)

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in kids, organization, parenting, routines. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Untidy house = untidy mind

  1. Sandra says:

    “The problem with mess is that it clutters your mind and totally impacts efficiency. You end up feeling like your treading water (or maybe drowning) instead of making progress.”
    Well said, Lora! Living in a smaller space has forced me to be (very) organized. And since I’ve gotten used to that, I hate disorganization and clutter and stuff without a place where it belongs.
    I’d also argue that every stage calls for reassessment of routines and organization of time.

Leave a Reply

