Cozy up the outside of your home

Although it takes some getting used to,  I don’t really mind the end of daylight savings.  It gets dark here by 4:45 pm, but that helps us get into an early dinner, finish homework, less stressed, get-t0-bed-0n-time routine.  The other plus is that with a few decorative flourishes you can make your house look cozy while the sun sets for the night.

The ultimate touch to a gezellig (cozy) looking home has to be window candles.  This seems to be uniquely American (?) or maybe even a North-East US thing (?).  Anyway I love mine even though I always have conniptions at first, setting the timer, replacing bulbs etc.  We’ve got a pretty good system now to prevent them from falling off window sills.  Scott glued a nail (with construction adhesive) into the bottom, with it poking out, and drilled a little hole in the window sill.  We just stick the nail in and the candle stays put, even with little hands about.

IMG_5137

IMG_5138

I was pleased to have window boxes put up this spring because there’s something so charming and old world-like about window boxes.  Decorating them for Christmas and the winter season was a lot of fun.   I used fresh green evergreen branches, fake red berries from Walmart, bows I already had and I spray painted some branches for a bit of contrast.  I’m pretty pleased how they turned out since it was a really quick attempt.  You can even see them from the street.

IMG_5135

IMG_5142

Anyone else find it necessary to cozy up your house during the dark winter days?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in home decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cozy up the outside of your home

  1. Sandra says:

    Gezellig! I love your window boxes! I’m wondering if I can do the same here… I love your candles too.
    Tomorrow the Christmas decorations are coming out – I’m not allowed by husband to get them out any time before Sinterklaas 😉 We often have candles on in the evening; it makes things much homier than glaring lights!

    • Lora says:

      Here the tradition is to get the Christmas decor out after Thanksgiving, which is the third Thursday of November. It’s a four day weekend so everyone is out doing lights, etc.

  2. Marcia says:

    The candles are a quintessentially New England touch that I have also imported to Canada! We keep them up until spring. We hold them fast with tape, but I have seen gizmos at the Vt. Country Store to fasten them directly to the window if your windows don’t have sills. Your place looks lovely.

  3. Your Brightwood Cottage looks just like its name. It looks warm, inviting, cozy, and welcoming. Your window boxes also turned out great!

  4. Lora says:

    Thanks for the kind comments guys :).

Leave a Reply

