An ingenious solution to hanging laundry

I have a confession to make.  When I  started this blog I had the notion that I would have many before and after posts.  After all we’ve redone every inch of our house, had more projects than I can remember so I must have some good pics and stories to share.  Well, I have since realized that before and afters require before pics (ooops), COMPLETE projects and immaculate rooms.  So I haven’t been able to muster many before and afters yet.

Anyway, here is an after without the before. The before consisted of a two foot wide cart on which you could hang clothes on hangers (of which  you can catch a glimpse on the left hand side in the second picture).  I would hang the clothes I did not want to dry in the dryer on hangers to dry.  I was hankering for a nice big rod in my laundry room to hang clothes on and my dear husband came up with an ingenious solution.  He used gas piping with the connectors  from Home Depot and screwed it into the ceiling joists.  It is incredibly strong (I theoretically could do chin ups hanging on this bar) so there is no danger of wet clothes making it sag or fall. He covered the pipe with plastic wrap meant to cover shower rods, so it looks better.  We have also used this system in several closets where the rods had to be suspended in the middle of the closet from the ceiling.

I’m really pleased with how it all works.  As you can see I also have a drying rack for tops etc.  I got this rack at IKEA and it’s great because it can hold a lot of laundry. I usually keep a rolling sewing table to the left of the drying wrack underneath the hanging clothes.  I just pull it out when I need to sew. Notice I did not show you the other side of the laundry room. 😉   Some day when  I get my act together I’ll give you a tour.  The laundry room was one of the changes we made after we had the house fire.  We moved it up from the basement, added a door to the outside sacrificing the office to have it on the main floor.  It also has a pantry and other storage.  I hope to get it really functional and organized in the next couple of months.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in before and after, do-it-yourself, handy household tips, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An ingenious solution to hanging laundry

  1. Irene says:

    It looks great Lora! what a clever Hubby you have 🙂

  2. Marcia says:

    Lora, I would love to see your new laundry the next time I visit, if I may. We are drawing up plans to expand ours which is currently a ridiculous size considering it also serves as a back entrance, and the powder room is directly past the w/d. I need some good ideas, and it always seems as though you have them! Like the floor, too – is it no-wax?

    • Lora says:

      That’d be fine. I am happy with a big space devoted to laundry, since I spend probably half my life doing laundry. The floor is industrial vinyl, and you can wax or not. I didn’t at first but it got really scuffed. So I bought a special sealer which I applied several times in a row and haven’t touched it since. (except to vacuum and mop) It isn’t shiny like a waxed floor, but the scuffs are held at bay, so I am pretty happy with it. It’s not perfect but i don’t need perfect. It’s a laundry room, back entrance afterall. We really wanted the black and white floor somewhere…. We had it in our kitchen in a previous house and I loved the look. I didn’t want to go with home depot residential type vinyl because it was shiny (shows dirt) and wouldn’t hold up as well.

Leave a Reply

