The romance of candles

Well, that title is a bit misleading since after nine days without power, candles have utterly lost their romantic appeal.  One good thing is that I managed to purge my candle drawer (yes I have one) and got rid of all the  partially used, forgotten candles I owned.  In fact I am completely out of tapers.

I learned a little about lighting during those electricity free days.  First of all candles don’t give off much light, and tapers throw a lot more light than pillar candles.

Second, don’t by cheap tapers, they will spill wax all over the place.  Third, tapers don’t last very long, so pillars are still very practical.

I only placed the tapers on high surfaces because I didn’t trust my little ones.  Lanterns that hold pillar candles are great because they protect little fingers from finding out the hard way that , yes, candles are “beddy, beddy hot” in Annika’s words.  Unfortunately daylight savings time ended during those days, so we ate dinner pretty early, ’cause I wanted to see my food, and more importantly see if the kids were eating it!  Then it was dishes by candlelight (how romantic) with the  hot water boiled on our little camping stove.

I remembered how in the “olden days”  they would use a lot of mirrors in the big, fancy houses to help reflect light.  Accordingly I hauled down a mirror to prop on the mantle and put candles in front to help reflect more light.  I remembered how candle wall sconces often had shiny plates behind the candle so  I  placed a candle in front a silver dish I had.  These little tricks really did work.

 

But one of the most ingenious ways to generate light (if I do say so myself)  was much more modern.  I took apart solar powered garden lights, and used them as night lights in the kids room and bath room.  Otherwise it would have been extremely dark.  Every morning I would put the lights back outside in the sunniest spot and bring them in again at night when they had recharged.  They worked wonders!

        

Four solar garden light shoved into a plant outside =  night light in boys room and other rooms.

What little tricks have you learned, to help you when the power goes out?

~Lora

 

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in do-it-yourself, handy household tips. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The romance of candles

  1. Connie Prol says:

    We had the one solar light outside and also brought it in at night.

  2. Andrea says:

    The solar light was ingenious as well as using mirrors! I never really thought about your tips before. I know the whole situation was a royal pain, but the kids will never forget it and it will be talked about for years to come. (and the candles do look cozy!)

  3. Sandra says:

    But your pictures look so romantic!! 😉
    Although I’m sure it’s not so romantic to be doing dishes by candlelight, and not quite seeing what’s clean and what’s not.
    I would have thought of the mirror idea; that really doubles the candlelight. I have no experience here with power failures, so no tips from me. The solar lights are ingenious!
    I’m curious how you experienced the power outage overall. Did you find yourself reading more? No computer, no internet? Were evenings more low key and relaxing because you couldn’t really do anything? Or were you doing mending by candlelight? 😉
    What about laundry? And hot showers?

Leave a Reply

