Purge progress

Well, awhile back I did a post on how I wanted to purge my house, get rid of the extraneous, stop organizing stuff and get rid of it instead.  I just wanted to let you know we are slowly but steadily making progress here. I think it all started when we began work on our master bath which had just been an extra room with a tub and some sinks floating around. And of course it attracted clutter and boxes of stuff which did not have a home etc etc. So when Dad came down to work on the bead board walls, we had to clean up big time.  These pics are two months old so the walls are done now and I have lots of painting to do.  Then the floor gets tiled, and then hubby can install everything. But  I digress…

So that led to a purge of Katrina’s closet and getting rid of a lot of clothes that didn’t fit etc. Then I moved on to my kitchen to deal with the one lone box of pottery which was hiding in my dining room corner since our move back home. I had to decide what to keep and what to get rid of in my cupboards to make room for what I was keeping. It felt good to just decide and ruthlessly get rid of a whole bunch of platters etc. which I never used. It also helps when your mom is over, egging you on. 🙂 I am not stuffing my cabinets! That’s my resolution.

Not too stuffed right?

So my mom headed back to Canada with a packed car and lots of bags for all sorts of destinations, her most favorite being Bibles for Missions.

Since then I’ve gone through most of my summer clothes, and now I have to deal with my winter clothes. The big thing is to get rid of stuff that doesn’t fit (you know the jeans you dream of fitting again one day?) By that time they’ll be out of style so out they have to go. Then I need to complete organizing my laundry room,  and deal with my front hall closets! And finally the biggie which hangs over my head like a cloud of doom…. the basement. It’s an unqualified disaster zone, but before we can make progress and finish it off a whole bunch of toys, books and lots of odds and ends need to be dealt with.

So who’s in this with me?  What are you purging?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in organization, Purge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Purge progress

  1. We are moving next week and although it’s a lot of work, I love the fact that you end up handling everything that you own and have to decide whether to keep or get rid of it. It feels so good to purge.

    • Lora says:

      I love how you write that you have to handle everything you own. It’s good to do that… Things have a habit of accumulating and you see it every day so you really don’t “see” it anymore. I still find it a struggle to throw things out…but a week later you don’t even remember what you chucked so that confirms the item needed to go.

  2. It is wonderful to purge! I did a bunch of it this summer when I had a garage sale. All the leftovers went to Bible for Missions also. What I sometimes struggle with is the whole size thing. I had some really nice skirts that if I lost a little weight, they’d fit. But there they were, just hanging in my closet. I got rid of them, and overall don’t regret it. My basement craft room is also stuffed. One step at a time, right?

  3. and mom is always good for egging one on……. 🙂

Leave a Reply

