Tidy or not….

I sigh… sometimes it seems endless, this picking up and putting away.  Bits and pieces of Sunday are still dotting the front hall; a beaded purse, aqua knit cap, one boys dress shoe.  It’s Tuesday night and all should be peace and order, but it’s not.  Pieces left over from days previous linger everywhere and big tasks loom ahead.  Tomatoes – a big steel bowl full and another tray waiting to ripen for one more day.

Then canning this second batch.  Imagine, me canning, who would have thought?!  It turned out great though.. the salsa.  Mild, yet a complicated flavor the husband said.  So the front hall gets ignored for the bigger endeavor to occur and it’s alright in the end as I peek into my pantry cabinet and see the orderly rows of salsa.

I got the recipe for the salsa from :  http://www.lifeingraceblog.com/2012/08/how-to-make-salsa-for-canning/

The only changes I made were, half the chili powder, half the pepper and 2 instead of 3 jalapeno peppers.  I wanted my kids to eat it 😉  It ended up mild, with a little bite in the aftertaste.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in cooking, do-it-yourself, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tidy or not….

  1. Patricia Kranendonk says:

    I made salsa this year too; lots of it using a half bushel of tomatoes! Next year try using Roma tomatoes as they are much meatier and you don’t need to boil down your salsa as long. You’ll get a fresher taste that way. My recipe is similar to yours but instead of the pepper, try adding 1.5 tsp of cumin! It makes your whole kitchen smell wonderful:) Now have fun eating it with nacho chips and melted cheddar cheese and sour cream….and a book!
    Tricia

  2. Marcia says:

    Thanks for reminding me to bring my hat from the dining room to the closet!

Leave a Reply

