Purge

I’m starting to feel antsy about the quantity of stuff we have accumulated in our house. Our excuse for many years was that we had to collect stuff for our house project. Hence the toilet in the shed, two sinks in the attic, and numerous other things. Some of the things were deals we couldn’t pass on.  Most of that worked out, but we have about 650 square feet of cherry color laminate in boxes in our basement we don’t need.  (Anyone interested – it’s real cheap) 😉 As the projects wind down, the need for stuff “just in case” disappears.

So now I want to purge. I want to go through each room, through closets and cupboards, dressers and drawers and get rid of the stuff we don’t use. The decent stuff will probably go to a thrift shop, Bibles for Missions, in Hamilton, ON.  Mom takes it up with her.

Stuff slows you down, it needs to be organized and constantly gets in the way. By no means will I become a minimalist. I never have and never will be. But I am done with packing my cupboards, and closets. I want to be able to see what I have, and use what I have. I already filled one big black garbage bag of (shhhhhh) T-O-Y-S, which went to the curb today. And I filled three bags with clothes which I gave away.

This is going to be a long project I’m feeling.  You have to get in the mood to purge, but my goal is to get rid/organize/go through something every week.  I’m making lists to keep me focused and I hope I can actually accomplish something.  I’ll keep you  apprised of  the progress.  Anyone else want to do the same?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in organization, storage ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Purge

  1. joanne says:

    I know the feeling…but over here I always going through stuff because we have a limited amount of space. the more space, the more stuff…

  2. Carol says:

    I’m doing it! And so far I’ve gotten rid of about the same as you – clothes and toys seem to be the things that accumulate the most or maybe they’re the most obvious things of which to get rid. It feels good, doesn’t it? 🙂

  3. Sandra says:

    Marlies inspired me last Friday, and now you – must be a sign – my purging instincts are ready to kick into high gear! I agree with Joanne – the more space you have, the more stuff you collect. I’m constantly thinking of how to organize things better b/c we don’t have that much space. That being said, I’m sure if I ever had to move I’d be horrified what’s all hidden up in my attic…!
    By the way, this post nicely ties into your post on the ‘stuff of families.’
    Happy purging to you!

  4. Dor says:

    I get the urge every year….poking through every drawer and cupboard, chucking, mending, and making it wonderfully organized! The question that bears asking, then is, why do I have to do it over again every year?!

Leave a Reply

