Blue shoes and happiness

If you are a female type reading this blog, there’s a pretty good chance you like shoes. I am guilty of that fascination, and as the purchasing parent (aka shopper) I get to fulfill that desire without necessarily filling my closet with shoes. I also just love a bargain, so when I saw these little boots at Target on the clearance pile, with the price of $2.16 , and saw they were Annika’s size, there was no resisting. They’re leather, purple and adorable. Woohooo! So that’s my deal of the day folks… or maybe deal of the year 😉

Aren’t they adorable?

Now the title of the post was Blue shoes and happiness.  Anyone know why that popped into my head? Does the name Alexander McCallSmith ring a bell?  If anyone likes reading fiction that gently exposes human nature in the context of a different culture (Africa), his series called the #1 Ladies Detective Agency series are the best.  If you can get them on CD at the library, even better.  You really get the African flavor through the accent and cadence of the reader.  The stories are set in Botswana, and they are a real treat.  So that’s all for today folks… two of my favourite things – shoes and books 😉

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in bargains, books. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blue shoes and happiness

  1. Carolyn Prince says:

    Grant regularly visits the local library in Cambridge…books on tape, novels, and last year we watched the entire series of #1 Ladies Detective Agency. I LOVED it. I can also appreciate the fascination for nice, well made shoes. Annika is growing so quickly! What a cutie!

    • Lora says:

      I’ve seen the as well. Very fun watch. I would say try to listen to the books… They’re even better because they get into the head of the characters! Yes our baby isn’t a baby anymore 😦

  2. Dor says:

    The books are a relaxing treat! Kind of like Mitford. It was hard to get into the first one, but by the end of it you’re hooked (on red bush tea, and slowing down!). The books are still coming out, about one new one a year 🙂 …there’s maybe eight or nine (or even ten?) now?

  3. Eelkje says:

    I love the books about mma ramotswe. The title of your blog made me wonder….
    Your little girl is growing up rapidly. She’ s super cute. Hope you are enjoying the summer.

    Eelkje

Leave a Reply

