Zucchini and what to do with it

Starting pretty soon there’s going an excess of zucchini in summer gardens. So I have an easy recipe to add to your arsenal of zucchini consuming recipes.

It’s from Taste Of Home, August/September 2012 – Zucchini Onion Pie.

Whisk the following seven ingredients in a bowl:

3 eggs, 1 cup grated parmesan cheese, 1/2 cup canola oil, 1 tbsp minced fresh parsley, 1 garlic clove minced, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp pepper

Slice thinly 1 large zucchini (3 cups) and add to bowl.  Add 1 cup biscuit/baking mix, and 1 small onion finely chopped. Mix with a spoon.  Pour into a greased 9″ deep dish pie plate.  Bake for 25-35 minutes till lightly browned.

Here’s what it looked like before it went in the oven:

Here’s what it looked like after it was baked:

And what did it taste like?  It was moist, savoury, cripsy on the edges and very good.  I would make a few modifications when I make it again.  Since I have picky eaters in my family, I would shred/grate the zucchini to make the texture more consistent.  I might also saute the onions a little to soften them up.  I didn’t use parsley, but it tasted fine that way.  It took 35 minutes to bake in my oven.  Dear hubby suggested adding bacon, which of course would make it more delicious.  I don’t think it’s a necessary addition, but it would be good.

Happy cooking! What do you do with excess zucchini?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zucchini and what to do with it

  1. Marcia says:

    We like it stir-fried in olive oil, with Italian spices (the premixed variety from Costco!) sprinkled on top. If anyone can recommend a recipe for a relish, I’d love to try that. I’ve watched the price on the brand I’ve bought here nearly double, and it goes quite fast.

  2. Ericka says:

    I’ve been told to saute it like Marcia suggested and then instead of noodles for speghetti use the zucchini – I guess it would work if you are cutting out the carbs.

    • Lora says:

      I’ve grated zucchini and put it in my tomato sauce along with meatballs and served over spaghetti. I do it to add more vegetables without the kids knowing it. You can’t taste it and they like it.

  3. Dor says:

    There’s zucchini bread, of course! Delicious because of the moistness and spices…
    4 eggs
    3 c. sugar
    3 c. grated (not finely) raw zucchini
    1 ½ c. oil
    2 tsp. vanilla extract
    Beat eggs till fluffy. Add sugar, oil, zucchini, and vanilla; mix lightly with electric mixer.
    4 ½ c. flour (I use whole wheat, you can use white, or ½ of each))
    1 ½ tsp. salt
    2 tsp. baking soda
    1 ½ tsp. baking powder
    3 tsp. cinnamon
    optional: 1 c. chopped nuts or 1 c. raisins (I don’t add them)
    Combine dry ingredients and add to above mixture, stirring till blended. Add nuts and raisins if desired. Pour into 2 greased and floured loaf pans. Bake at 350 for 1 ¼ hour. Poke it with a fork to see if it’s done. Don’t overbake it, then it gets dry. The fork can have a tiny bit of stuff on it (but not all goopey). Freezes well too.

  4. stacie says:

    we tried this zucchini and onion pie last night…success on this end.

Leave a Reply

