Construction

There’s a reason it’s been kind of quiet in these parts – at least on this blog. Our house is another matter. Last week was punctuated with lots of dull thuds, crashing concrete, whining saws and hammer blows. We’re back at it again! Nothing like the fresh smell of lumber to heighten the sense of excitement over progress. Dad came down and we started the basement (again). This time we plan to finish all of it off.
The first order of business was to get rid of a recalcitrant chimney which was no longer in use. This sure brought back memories of what construction mess is all about! Complete with holes cut into your bathroom wall. Progress always seems to include a lot of regression before the progression.

So here is the real deal, no photoshopping pictures – just the disaster my basement was last week.

 

  

Yup, that chimney was hiding behind that wall, and didn’t want to go anywhere without some encouragement.

And now it looks a little bit better down there… and do you see? No chimney!

 

 

I can truly say I am thrilled to see things take shape.  It’ll still be many months before we’re done, but we’re moving in the right direction!

~Lora

PS Posts may still be sparse for the next weeks….  I’m heading VBS next week, and then some time in Canada in August.  🙂

 

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in do-it-yourself, renovations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

