My non-Pintrest 4th of July

I’m on Better Homes and Garden’s email list, so I get updates regularly showing pretty before and afters, cool gardening ideas, color schemes for your rooms and lots of quick and easy cooking recipes.  The last few updates have been about creative ideas for your 4th of July party.  Home blogs have been having linky parties, showing off all the creative ideas to make your party special and oh so chic. I checked out the pretty cupcakes, lemonade served in mason jars with red/white and blue paper straws,  interesting table runners, cucumber/mint ice water served in an interesting apothecary glass drink dispenser….the down country look that looks effortless but you know had to take forever to do… everyone looking so smiley and color coordinated and beautiful.

Well that’s not my life folks.  It’s super tempting to think if everything looks just “so” you will be guaranteed  a fantastic get together, with lots of interesting conversations, and beautiful people mingling about.  But we all know that it’s not real right?  Pretty pictures tell a surface story.  They may inspire us and give us creative ideas but in the end, the people, the relationships, the love and fellowship shared are the real story.  And those things can happen anywhere, anytime;  with chipped china, mismatched flat ware and a 1970’s crockpot filled with baked beans.

So this year we worked for part of the day, hubby organizing the garage and helping clean up the house, me making food ready and cleaning.  Then we had a visiting missionary family and my in laws over for a barbecue.  As we sang “God Bless America” before eating our flag cake for dessert, I hoped and prayed that this unique country of ours would be blessed by God, blessed with the reviving and turning of our hearts to Him.

my non-pintrest cake 😉

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in baking, family, holiday, reflection, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My non-Pintrest 4th of July

  1. mydearbakes says:

    You make very gorgeous bakes, lovely! =)

    • Lora says:

      Thanks! This is pretty basic, but to make it more special, I use a lemon cake mix, and once I spread the batter in the pan, I push marble size pieces of almond paste into it consistently all over the cake so they are just covered by the batter. This gives more depth of flavor and keeps it moist. Of course there’s real whip cream on top!

Leave a Reply

