Saturday night

I’m quickly sweeping the front steps and patio. I heave the hose out of the hose reel and water the flower pots, run down to the garage to put away a bicycle, see that wilted state of my hydrangea because of the heat and begin to water those. Then run a spade to the shed, back up the hill to the front again and give a final look around. It’s Saturday night and I’ve slipped into the routine of my dad. Hustling and bustling outside, making everything neat for Sunday. The only thing I skip is washing the cars – that’s not my job ;).
Meanwhile hubby is throwing the grubby boys in the tub for a good soak. It’s the only way to get their nails clean. And nails must be clean for Sunday!
So here I am, a product of my upbringing… but I’m not complaining. Sunday rest and peace comes after Saturday work. (Six days shalt thou labor – remember?) Wishing you all a sabbath days blessing.

Just a random, recent pic I couldn’t resist sharing 🙂

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in reflection, routines. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday night

  1. Marcia says:

    I’m relating!

  2. I wish my upbringing was so ingrained in me! I do try to have the inside of the house presentable, but with just the two of us, it’s easy to slack off. I should try to get more in the habit of it, though….
    Btw, Annie is such a doll!

    • Lora says:

      Well it’s not like everything is pristine around here Saturday night… Far from it. But I do feel much better if it’s tidy and fairly clean. Annika is our little dolly 🙂

  3. Esther says:

    Dan definitely does the same thing … 🙂

Leave a Reply

