Bruschetta etc.

Often when I lie in bed, or when I’m driving around I think of great things to write about, and I pretty much compose a post in my head. But when I finally get down to it (usually at the end of the day) I just can’t recall those wonderful words of wisdom.  So I’m down to recipe ideas folks.  Yup, that’s it….  Kind of lame I know, but this one’s worth sharing.

I make this on a regular basis once summer arrives with it’s delicious, red, tasty tomatoes.  Bruschetta.  I first encountered  bruchetta in a pleasant villa in the rolling hills somewhere north of Rome.  Being a traditionally raised dutch-canadian girl I had no previous experience with bruchetta.  I can’t say I fell in love immediately.  Fast forward  many years and bruchetta grew on me as my palate expanded.  There are many little Italian restaurants in NJ,  so I sampled different versions, and came up with my own.

Now I will often make bruchetta on  Friday for dinner with some steak or burgers, and then we’ll use leftovers on Saturday in our lunch omelette, and some more leftovers on our traditional plain pizza Saturday night. If there’s still some left on Sunday, it gets tossed into the tomato soup!

So here’s the recipe… it’s rather loose as far as quantities… but gives you an idea of where to start.

Dice three or four medium tomatoes.  Put into glass bowl with their juices.  Finely chop red onion – about 1/2 of a small onion.  Add to the bowl.  Peel and press one or two cloves of garlic.  Add to bowl.  Pick about 6 large basil leaves and finely chop – add to bowl.  Finally add 1 or 2 tablespoons olive oil, and 1 or two tablespoons lemon juice (to taste.)  You’ll want to have extra liquid so that when you put the tomato mixture on your toasted bread, it makes the hard bread soft. Shake in some salt/seasoning salt (I use Jane’s Krazy mixed up seaonings  – Original mixed up salt) to taste. Cover bowl with a lid or plastic wrap and let it sit on your counter for an hour or more.

Meanwhile, slice a loaf of french or italian bread – preferably a heartier sour dough type bread.  Brush both sides of bread with olive oil, broil in your oven till toasted, flip and broil the other side.  Store roasted bread in a bread basket wrapped with a cloth, or a paper bag, to maintain it’s crispness.

When serving, don’t put the tomato on ahead of time. If you have leftover tomato mixture, try and avoid refrigerating (unless it’s hot and you don’t have a/c)  It will taste much better the next day.

Eet smakelijk!

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bruschetta etc.

  1. kmdutchlife says:

    Lora,

    I am going to try it! We really like Bruschetta so I’m going to try your new recipe sometime soon. He just asked me the other day when we were going to eat it again….

    Marlies

Leave a Reply

