Potatoes and Pound Cake

Sounds like a pretty good combination doesn’t it?  Well,  I wouldn’t eat these together, but they’re both pretty good easy recipes so I’d thought I’d share.

I threw these potatoes together the other day and they were delicious.  I used small, thin-skinned Yukon gold potatoes and washed and quartered them.  Then because I was going to grill meat for about 15 – 20 minutes, I pre-cooked these a little in the microwave.  I just threw them on a plate, and microwaved for 4 minutes till they gave a little when I poked them. Then I tossed them with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, shook on some crazy mixed up salt and onion powder, and added a thinly sliced yellow onion.  I put them on a foil “tray” (because I can’t seem to find my grill basket) and put them on the bbq grill with the meat on medium heat (350 -400F) for about 20 minutes or so.  Once and a while I scrapped and flipped them. I don’t have after pictures because I kind of forgot to take them, what with dealing with picky eaters,  a cranky baby and spilled milk.  You get the picture.  The hubby and older kids loved these though!

Btw, I often will partially pre-cook russet/Idaho potatoes that I plan to bake so that they don’t have to be in the oven for an hour or more to be done.  Then I can put them in with something like boneless chicken which takes about 35 minutes.  When I do this,  I just put the potatoes on the rack in the oven – not wrapped with foil – so that the skins crisp up.  No one ever tastes the difference in the partially microwaved baked potatoes.

OK,  now here’s dessert, or a recipe for coffee time. This is pound cake with 4 ingredients! It has a very nice crispy top, and is great on its own, or served with berries and whipped cream.

10 eggs

4 cups sugar

2 cups softened butter (1 pound)

4 cups flour

Beat eggs with electric mixer till foamy.  Add sugar; mix well.  Add softened butter; mix well.  Add flour gradually; mix well.  Pour into greased and floured 41/2 x 12 1/2 inch loaf pans (long and narrow).  Bake in 300F oven for about two hours.  Remove from pans after cooling ten minutes.  Use a metal spatula to ease them out, and finish cooling on racks. Now you have two loaves…  one for now and one for the freezer.

I tested the cake at 1hr 45 minutes and the metal skewer came out clean.  Because I once took them out too early, I was nervous so I left them in for another ten minutes.  They were good, but the center slices did not have that moistness under the crust that is so delicious.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Potatoes and Pound Cake

  1. Nicole says:

    I have a killer recipe for pound cake, that uses cream cheese. My kids love it so much, they won’t eat the ‘regular’ pound cake any more. Glad to share it if you’re interested!

  2. trialsinfood says:

    Potatoes and pound cake…love them both. Looks delish!

  3. Marcia says:

    Is this your mother’s recipe? I’ve always really liked hers. Is the danger of taking it out early that they will collapse? I once tried a recipe from a Portuguese friend, (called Pao de Lo if I’m not mistaken), and it went from a masterpiece to a pancake in ten minutes flat – no pun intended.

  4. Lora says:

    Yes it is my mom’s recipe. It won’t exactly collapse, it’s too dense of a recipe for that unless you take it out way too early. I just took it out too early once and the whole middle was mush. But that was a serious miscalculation. I would probably take it out around 1 hr, 45-50 min next time instead of the full 2 hrs, so that it is more moist.

Leave a Reply

