Tickled pink (and purple)

Did you ever notice how many flowers in springtime are pink or purple?  I never really did till today when I was checking out my perennial garden.  Everything in bloom seems to be a shade of purple.  Now if I were an organized planning type gardener, I would be very aware of this fact.  But my perennial garden sort of evolved from this and that… things I had, perennials people gave me and plants I bought.   One day, I hope to really organize, move plants, and add appropriate perennials.  But for now, I just admire the glorious blooms God gave this world and enjoy them.

When I moved to the front patio, many of my pots had shades of pink or purple.  There’s also not a whole lot of planning going on there either.  Just a riot of color and texture.

It was a nice fifteen minute diversion out of a busy day.  When I’m outside puttering around with my plants, dead heading spent blooms, watering thirsty pots, and clicking with my camera I feel like I’m Lora again.  Not MOM!, or mommy, or honey, or MAAAMAAA!, I’m just me with my flowers.  It’s a mini break in the middle of a demanding late afternoon.

The sun is so warm and golden, it’s the best part of the day. The wind has died down and the birds chirp like mad before dusk falls.  I should be getting dinner ready…. but how long does it take to heat up leftover chicken soup?  Hubby won’t be home for dinner anyway… A few more clicks with my camera and then my mommy conscience really hollers at me.  Alright, Lora, back to work…. you’re flying solo tonight so there’s no room for slacking off.

Right now the irises are in bloom.  These are dutch irises  I believe.

Bearded Irises:

My absolute favourite irises, which came with our house and have been moved several times:

I don’t remember what this is called.  It just started blooming and will get lots of blooms all over this low growing plant.:

Tradescantia (woodland hybrid), lovely grass like foliage with bloom clusters along the stem where a grass leaf shoots off:

Scaevola (purple fan flower) works great in full sun locations:

Pincushion perennial (?) :

Pansies:

Fuschia:

Dianthus with New Guinea Impatiens:  (I planted canna bulbs in the middle of the pot.  They are so exotic and tall – they aren’t up yet)

Moon Torenia – perfect for part sun, shade in the afternoon:

Calla lilly:

And although this doesn’t fit the pink and purple theme my peonies are starting to bloom 🙂

How’s your garden growing?  What are your favourite perennials?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tickled pink (and purple)

  1. Marcia says:

    Aren’t perennial gardens lovely? Mine is still a work in progress after 8 years! It’s difficult to say what my absolute favorite is, but I think I’ll go with the bleeding hearts, maybe because they are one of the first to show up again after winter. If you want a touch of yellow in early spring, I recommend doronicum (leopard’s bane).
    Your irises are fabulous; so far I see only one flower developing on mine. Not sure why, as last year they were full of blooms. Any advice?

    • Lora says:

      Thanks for the kind words and suggestion. Perhaps the irises are too packed together. Every two or three years you are supposed to split them up, b/c they keep expanding. Look on the web on how to divide them. I do nothing to mine… Except occasionally divide them. They are in full sun till later afternoon.

Leave a Reply

