Mischief

I had forgotten what trouble toddlers get into on a daily basis. Having three kids already I should have remembered. I shouldn’t have been surprised by the litter of a day of play strewn across the whole house. I shouldn’t have been surprised to find measuring cups on the porch, folded laundry outside of the basket, crumbles of black dirt outside the potted plant, milky stains on all the windows. And yet I regularly found myself surprised by some new mischief she had devised. I have adjusted though, lowering expectations of tidiness, remembering that silence with a toddler isn’t golden, it’s dangerous.
I do remember that this doesn’t last and that before long I will be trying to grasp the faint memory threads of Annika when she was little. I do remember to try and live in each moment, and not wish away now for when she’s older. That’s the blessing of a little one who comes five years after the previous child. You are able to enjoy more because you aren’t overwhelmed with other babies. I thank God for our little girl blessing in our lives.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in child's play, family, kids, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mischief

  1. Sandra says:

    I love the plant pictures! You’re right, we have to try to enjoy the moments now, although it’s sometimes hard to have that perspective when there’s a pee puddle on the ground and CD’s strewn over the floor and orange juice staining clean pajamas…!

    • Lora says:

      I know…and soon you’ll have another mischief maker getting into stuff, lol. David does sound like a handful, so probably Eva will be easier.

  2. Andrea says:

    what a rascal!

  3. Dor says:

    Where ARE you moms?! ha ha ha. Just kidding. Lots of fun, these little ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

