Helping out

Ever notice that kids like to help out when they’re young? Kids like to move along with you, and get involved in what you are doing. I have memories of my sisters and I trying to “sew” doll clothes by hand while my mom sewed on her sewing machine. She was good about letting us “help” her. I see her doing the same thing with my kids, and I recognize that this is not something that comes naturally to me. I am not the most patient mom, so I struggle with letting kids “help” when you just want to get something done.

When you think about it though, it’s pretty dumb to discourage helping. Don’t we all want helpful kids as they get older? How will they learn to help if we don’t let them help when they want to help? So I am trying to slow down and let the little ones help me more. It’s taken me till now (eleven years after my first) to enjoy letting Annika move the laundry to the dryer, or push the button to start the wash machine.  Now I so enjoy her enthusiasm as the machine starts whirling and spitting water on the clothes.

I dug up some great pictures of the kids when they were younger helping out.

Taylor:

Taylor sneaking in his hammer 🙂

Putting up the flag in time for Memorial Day:

Helping Grandpa get some mulch from our mulch mountain:

Baking cookies with Nana:

Do you let your kids “help” out?  Do you have to supress your urge for efficiency?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in child's play, family, kids, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Helping out

  1. Irene says:

    Great pictures!

  2. Nicolette says:

    totally have to repressed the urge for efficiency! but on the other hand, there is something very fun about kid’s enthusiasm for the most mundane tasks….

  3. Esther says:

    Cute pictures! I don’t know what I’ll be like with my own kid…but I did think it was funny that my two nephews (5 and 4 at the time) were so excited to come over and ‘help’ me weed our overgrown driveway. I didn’t mind, even though they were mostly just pulling the leaves and leaving the roots behind. It was fun that they were so excited to help out with a chore that I hated as a kid. I do think for some things though, I would rather just get it all done properly and efficiently.

Leave a Reply

