The need to read

Here’s a confession.  I am a compulsive reader.  I read cereal boxes, directions, catalogs, floor plans  as well as more conventional material.  I have always been this way as far back as I can remember.  Books were my constant companion as a child.  Now I read many more articles than I do books.   I check out a bunch of blogs (Head,Heart,Hand gets my top vote for interesting articles and links), I read magazine articles,  and we get the WSJ newspaper everyday. So I read all day in dribs and drabs.  As a mom I just can’t seem to find the time to sit for a couple hours and read a book.  I have a few books on my bookshelf that I would love to read.  I just don’t dare to begin because if they are compelling I will dive in and let everything else go.  No dinner on the table, kids taking full advantage of an inattentive mom… you get the picture.

My daughter has inherited the obsession.  Teachers always encourage kids to read.  They tell us parents to give your children many opportunities to read.  Never discourage reading.  Ha!  Well  around here we use NOT reading as a punishment.  “Put your book down and do what I told you to do or I will take that book away for a week!”  Not pretty,  I know… but completely necessary.  And I get it, because I was/am the same way.  I just don’t have anyone threatening to take away my Ipad for a week.  Hmmm..  it would probably be a very effective incentive.  🙂

My Katrina over the years:

Can anyone figure out what book she is reading? I’m guessing a Little House series book by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

“Reading” a swedish book at IKEA 🙂

Are any of you compulsive readers?

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in about me, parenting, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The need to read

  1. Carol says:

    So I have to ask. Do / did you read to your kids a lot? In other words, did you “make” your kids love reading or did they inherit it? Nature or nurture?

    I read constantly. But I think it stems more from my thirst for information, ideas and perspective rather than a love for the written word itself. On the other hand, I do recognize and appreciate a well written book or article!

    • Lora says:

      It’s nature all the way. I read to my kids because I should, not because I love to. Scott does read every night to the boys for 15 minutes (or more when it gets too exciting). I think you can give your children an appreciation for books, so they can start to recognize great books vs. Hardy Boys. But the drive to read continually is nature I’m thinking.

  2. Dor says:

    I think it’s nature, but natural to EVERYONE! I am convinced from teaching grades 5 and 6 for years that the kids that “don’t like to read” simply don’t enjoy it because no one at their house reads, so it doesn’t seem appealing, or they are struggling readers and that’s what’s stopping them. Because every single child, every single school year, absolutely loves being read to. So spend the time teaching your kids HOW to read, read exciting stories so they will be INTERESTED in books, and “model” reading yourself so they will WANT to keep reading 🙂 Yes, I love books…

    • Lora says:

      I agree that all kids like to be read to, but some kids lack the skills not because they haven’t had reading modeled to them but because they just can’t do it well (learning disabilities etc) and reading is just not a good learning modality for them. You can teach them, they can get by etc., but they will never be efficient readers. I know several examples of this. They read because they need to at times, or should (ie reading God’s word the Bible), but they never get to enjoy it. Much like me never enjoying complicated math. I could do it, but never enjoyed it. My brain is not wired for it. The compulsive need to read is totally nature not nurture. I see that clearly in my kids.
      I think audio books are great for people who like good stories but can’t read for enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

