My American Girl

Who would have thought I’d be living in America, with an American hubby, and four American born children?  When I was a teen I always thought I’d end up marrying a red-neck farmer in southern Ontario, and have to get up at some dreadful hour to milk cows or some such thing.  No offense intended against farmers, but I’m just not farmer’s wife material.  I grew up in suburbia (in the wonderful town of Ancaster) and I am a suburbanite at heart.  Not country, not city, just big, treed lot, close to stores but on a quiet street, comfy home but not McMansion, perrenial garden not big veggie garden, paved driveway not gravel, bike around, not drive around, close to school kind of suburbanite.  Yup that’s me…   Pitiful isn’t it?  There’s not too much immigrant blood left in me I suppose.  But I did immigrate here, so that counts for something.. . took the plunge, left kith and kin… and ended up loving a new country.

Now that I’ve managed to alienate half the readers, here are some pictures of my youngest American girl 😉

How did your life change from your expectations as a child?

~ Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in about me, child's play, family, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My American Girl

  1. Boudewina says:

    She looks supersweet. Love those little baby legs…
    By the llok in her eyes you can see that she is quite the little lady!

  2. Sandra says:

    Adorable!
    Although I didn’t grow up as a ‘Surburbanite’ like you (Orkney doesn’t really count!), I love that life definitely over true country life. It ain’t for me either. And…deep in my heart, if I had to choose between living here or in the US? Definitely America! But I’m happy where I am…don’t worry! And I’ll dress my kiddios in orange on Queen’s Day and during a football match like the proud Dutchies they should be 🙂

  3. Nicolette says:

    There’s is nothing wrong with being a suburbanite! I love this life too, though there are times that Mike still teases me about wanting a meadow to look at out my back door (living on Orkney made me love being able to have a wide, panoramic view). But the conveniences! the joys! the want to come over for coffee?!! make being a suburbanite worth it. I love my home and country, too! And better to embrace the country you live in then to resent it. Life’s too short.

  4. Nicolette says:

    …and Annie is a dolly!

  5. My ideal would be a country lot in the suburbs. Kinda like what we already have, but maybe a little nicer and bigger. I like having a veggie patch, but not too much to handle. I guess I’m similar to you!

    • Lora says:

      Bigger house or lot? I wouldn’t want to mow more grass than you already have! I like where you are… country feel without the inconveniences.

  6. Marcia Gritter says:

    I grew up in the country, lived in the city, went back to the country, and am now back in the city. I think that there are definite benefits to both. The country is great when you have 4 boys! (they miss it) but I enjoy the convenience of the city and the fact that Eug is closer to work. I hope we can move to a larger property..near the city..someday.
    Marcia

Leave a Reply

