Spring touches

I like to change some of the decor in my house when the seasons change. Because of the house fire last year, most of my seasonal stuff burned. So what a good excuse to get some new things to “spring” up my home. But the greatest fun is using things you already have to change up the look in your home.

Here’s a few shots of my fireplace mantel (which I have to paint, now that we’re not using the woodstove).

Plant holder, fake plant, and lantern from IKEA

sources: plant holder, fake plant, lantern from IKEA, porcelain birds, bird “cage” from HomeGoods, green and natural balls from Target, fake bird from Michaels.


The next two pictures use things I already had.  Even though they are not really springy (is that a word ?)  I think it feels fresh.  We were so happy our barrister bookcase survived the fire.  We had to get it refinished, but it looks better than it ever did.

I had bought the Family Rules canvas at Kohls. The pear and apple were a wedding gift from an aunt in Holland, the Willow Tree figurine was a gift from Irene, and the plant pot was from a garage sale.

Do you change your decor for the seasons?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in home decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spring touches

  1. Jenn says:

    Can’t say that I do change up the decor around here, but now I want to 🙂
    The birds are adorable!

  2. Lora says:

    The birds had me… Especially the chubby guy 🙂

  3. Lora, I love your bird cage and mantle decor. Very cute indeed. I try to switch a few things up for Spring also.

  4. Irene says:

    That’s funny… when I redid my room I found a bird for my shelf also and was eyeing the bird cages at HomeSense!! 🙂

  5. Phil says:

    Love your barrister bookcase. If you ever see one for a decent price in your travels around (that you don’t want yourself) let me know!

    • Lora says:

      We’ll keep that in mind… they’re usually pretty pricey, but Scott got his off the garbage years ago ~ surprise;). Of course now we paid to refinish it.

Leave a Reply

