Daffodils

I love daffodils.  Actually I love all sorts of spring bulbs, but daffodils are at the top of my list because they naturalize, and deer don’t eat them.  Here’s a few pics of some of my daffodils.  Unfortunately I’m too late for some of the early ones.

And just to prove I like other bulbs too… hyacinths.

What’s growing in your spring garden?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daffodils

  1. I can’t wait until we start our gardens! I love daffodils too– I always think of them as quite poetic (Wordsworth: my heart with pleasure fills and dances with the daffodils…). Unfortunately, I don’t know that much about keeping up (or starting) a garden–any advice for a newbie like me?

    • Lora says:

      Well, if you have some shade in the back (say around the tree) plant hostas. They’re indestructable and look nice all summer. get a piece (shovel out a chunk)from Mom and Dad (those hostas have a long history traveling all over), and from anyone else you know. Put annuals in the front of your gardens, leave a lot of space in the back for shrubs… but if you want to save money, get them in the fall. I like a few spectacular pots with bright colors. Get as big a pot as you can afford, (preferably 18 inches high or more) put it on your front porch. Put a nicotanus(?) tuber in the middle – it will grow really big and tall (looks tropical) then some potato vine and some everblooming petunias (this is assuming a sunny location), water regularily and you will have a great focal point on your porch. To avoid filling a huge pot with tons of potting soil, put an upside down cheep plastic pot in the bottom. Make sure you drill holes in the bottom of your big pot. Better to have one big nice pot than lots of small ones. (My opinion anyway) Enjoy 🙂

  2. Dor says:

    Fantastic gardening advice, Lora! No need for all those magazines now! Seriously, you’ve said it all in a nutshell:) I can only add that there’s a great place on 5th concession that sells all their shrubs in 1 gallon pots for only $5 and they quickly catch up with the bigger pots… Also, sedums are awesome plants — never die, stay beautifully green and nicely shaped through the spring and summer, and then turn nice colour in the fall (they are cheap in small pots for 2 or $3)… and tall grasses look nice year round, but are more expensive…

Leave a Reply

