Coffee time

When I think back on my childhood, what I remember are the routines which made our family’s home our home.   Every family has rhythms and routines that help create a unique family identity.  One big routine for us was coffee time.  We didn’t call it snack time, or juicy time… it was coffee time.  Perhaps in anticipation of the day we would be old enough to drink coffee too.  I also think it was coffee time because the adults who were home at that time would stop for a few minutes and have coffee while we had tea, or chocolate milk or freshie (remember that one Cdn’s?) .  And then there was always something home-baked to go with the drink.  I well remember the smell of almond cupcakes just baked as we hurtled through the door after school, dumping bags, and coats and the like.  They were really more like boterkoek in cupcake or mini tart form.  Tea rounded out that snack pretty well.  My friends told me many years later that they always liked coming over to our house after school, and sitting down with my Mom for coffee time.

Coffee time occurs twice per day in a well-regulated household. 😉  At 10 ish in the morning and 3:30 ish in the afternoon (or when the kids come home from school).  I have continued the old family (and dutch) routine in our home.  It’s a great transition from school to home, a chance to sit with your mom for minute and tell her the exciting news from school that day. Or maybe you just chill out.  It’s gezelig, it means home to me, and I want my kids to have a strong sense of connectedness to home and it’s security and comforts.  It’s informal and easy (unlike dinner when you might have fussy eaters) and can go on for as long as you like.  Coffee time is where the interesting conversations are, where the smell of baking and freshly brewed coffee tells us we’re home.

What routines do your families have?  Anyone else love coffee time?

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in kids, parenting, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coffee time

  1. Boudewina says:

    I,m having my coffee right now ( its around ten) together with Ester my little niece. Together with a nice honeystroopwafel how dutch can one be. I love it. Mostly on sunday with a selfmade cake like cheesecake to go with it. Our kids love it.
    This time of year makes it even more special because we are having lots of those moment outside at the coffeetable. Kids playing around..enjoying the new leaves and flowers.

  2. Sandra says:

    Our family had the exact same thing – surprise! I definitely have a few ‘coffee times’ throughout the day – 10/10:30 (after everything’s been tidied) and around 4:00. I also try to sneak in a ‘fruit time’ around 2:30 / 3:00 after David wakes up from his nap. We also have a coffee time together just after 8:00. Routines do indeed provide security and a sense of home. Sundays were the most routined day of the week, and I loved them!
    I think the only thing I do differently is I don’t bake nearly as much as I used to (at home in Canada). With a husband who has more self-discipline than I do, there’s only David and I to eat it…no good for the waistline! Plus, store-bought cookies are 10x better than what you can buy in North America, although not delicious enough for me to make me tempted to eat more than one 🙂
    We’d love to come and visit for a real coffee time on your deck!

  3. Dor says:

    John’s definitely grown into this new “Roth” routine. Saturday I can run around as long as we can all have our 10 and 4:00 coffee 🙂 The kids love it too, especially since a story comes with the morning coffee.

  4. Marcia says:

    I love my coffee time, too. Never miss it! I’ve cut back on the baking as it is far easier (but not foolproof) to skip a store cookie. You’re 100% correct about your mother’s goodies, although I do believe it’s the company that makes it taste all the better!

Leave a Reply

