Humble pie

I think one of God’s purposes in giving us children is to keep us humble. Several months ago one of my family was sharing how their child continually got into her plants. I remember feeling a little bit of  pride. My little girl would head for a plant but when I said “no” she stopped and that was the end of it.
Was is the operative word.  We are having major plant battles over here. She is irresistably drawn to my plants and delights in grabbing handfuls of dirt and dumping it on the ground. Then when I catch her, she talks very expressively in baby talk about why she did it and what fun it is to feel the dirt on her fingers, and how delightful it is to throw the dirt on floor. So far my disciplinary methods have been ineffective. The only way to stop her is to catch her. I have moved some plants out of harms way, but there are a few that are too large to raise them to a higher level. So I persist and she persists and I eat that slice of humble pie.

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in kids, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Humble pie

  1. elizabeth j ryniak says:

    You are richly blessed. A happy home a happy family & what more could you want. I think you have it all. But then you are a great person yourself.

  2. Nicolette says:

    hey, that wasn’t Jules that had done it earlier was it? After all, my Jules would never do something like that. My disciplinarian efforts are much too effective…. 🙂

  3. Sandra says:

    had to laugh at this one! i’ve been there – in the grocery store thinking ‘oh my, can that mom please stop that kid from shrieking so much!’ – and then there I am with a boy so angry and uptight people on the other side can hear him, and I’m digging in my purse for a candy as a bribe… just think: annika probably has a very active imagination!

Leave a Reply

