Poll results and a handy-dandy tip

Ok, so my poll was pretty unexciting, but here are the results.
10 in favor of packing up the winter stuff
3 for holding off
What I have done so far is wash the snow pants, but left one winter coat per child hanging on the hooks. I hear next week we’ll be back to normal temperatures.  But the snow boots and mittens gotta go when I have time. I always wash everything so that next year I am ready for the unexpected wintry blast. (Remember this past October?)

So here’s the handy-dandy tip.  I’ve hung one of those pocket organizers inside my coat closet and we keep our mittens and gloves in there in the winter.  It helps to keep the pairs together.  In the summer we use it to store sunscreen, sunglasses, goggles, bug spray, bubbles etc.   Not the most original but it works. 🙂

 (Please excuse the bad night time picture)

By the way, I’m keeping this real folks.  No putting only one pair per pocket, color organized, martha stewart-like.   No quick editing of the vast quantity of mittens and gloves we have.   BTW remember last year?  How much snow we had?  How many times a day our kids had to change their wet mittens?  Can I help it this has been the warmest and most snowless winter we’ve ever had?  OK I rest my case. 🙂

~Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in organization, storage ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poll results and a handy-dandy tip

  1. Sandra says:

    One coat per child? Do I dare ask how many winter coats you have? 😉

    • Lora says:

      Ha,ha.. Spoken like a dutchie ;). My kids have two winter coats, usually one is a hand-me-down or used. Plus I have a Sunday (dress) coat for each kid. I indefinitely look for deals on these at garage sales etc. since they don’t get much use. Nuts eh?

      • Sandra says:

        Me, Dutch?! Actually true Dutchies over here have their kids dressed to the nines and in the latest fashion. I’m not quite like that. I guess that makes sense – one coat for around the house to get dirty in, one for school / going out, one for dress-up. For next winter I’ve already got two coats for Eva (wool and semi-dressy) and I’m feeling a little guilty about it. I may try to sell the wool one and buy a cheap around the house one 🙂 But nothing beats New Jersey prices along with their garage sales!!

  2. Lora vg says:

    By dutchie I meant they think we’re nuts for having so much stuff. But it’s a matter of storage, I think. Anyway, the funny thing is that when I see dutch families visit I don’t think their kids are dressed to the nines, I think they look sloppy. Maybe the clothes are expensive, but they don’t look like it to my non discerning eye. NJ is the best place to shop though, new or used. The challenge here is not to acquire so much stuff b/c managing stuff takes time and energy.

Leave a Reply

